Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

$13-14K TO SPEND IN POLICE UAV

Reaction score
Website
www.martinezaerial.com
I'd like your input, and I am also posting in general discussions to get max coverage (if moderator allows ;)).

I am consulting, as a volunteer, with a local police department (I am a retired cop-32 years and operate a part 107 business) to purchase and start a UAS unit.

Their general requirements ($13-$14k budget):
1. Hexacopter
2. 35-40 mins flight time
3. FLIR (336x256 slow lens)
and conventional camera
4. Encrypted video (?)
5. 10X optical zoom

Appreciate any suggestions.

I think your only options here would be the M600 and get lenses as you go along, or self build. The second you go along the encrypted video (at least in the UK) for law enforcement use, their specs for encryption are far in advanced of any commercial solution and unfortunately have a premium. For example there ia a solution for video encryption in the UK which costs £3k for the commercial version or £8k for law enforcement / government. As much as Id love to help and I also get involved with the emergency services sector, I dont think you will get a branded solution for this price. The M200 would be an option however no prop redundancy

Also you as re saying about the low resolution thermal, would that be admissible in your court system, or would the higher version be required for evidential purposes.

I hate to say it - self build!

Reactions: Sligeach
Thanks for your quick response. I am also leaning towards the M600 and am trying to alleviate the encryption concerns (they coming from IT, of course). Personally I fail to see the need for it. How easy is tapping off the video link? I am recommending IT pays for encryption if they want it. ;) Can't get steak on a hamburger budget!

FLIR would more often than not be used to locate people (lost, suspects) not sure that there will be much of an evidentiary concern. But good point.