Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Anyone using iphone instead of ipad?

Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
I happen to have an iPhone 5s, which seems to work with the app. Should I save myself £200 and use this, or am I limiting myself hugely?

I realise larger screen will be much more useful, but just wondered about any first hand experiences,

thanks, R
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
I've used it but only when I know I won't look at it much besides checking status before flying because I'll be using my video goggles.

EDIT: I have an iPhone 6. I find the previous ones too small for anything, so no point even mentioning this scenario.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
9
Age
48
It his may not help, but I have an IPad Air 2 and an iPhone 6 Plus. I thought I'd use the iPad, but I'm finding myself reaching for my iPhone most of the time. Not sure I would go smaller like the 5s, but iPhone 6 Plus is working great. A friend uses his iPad mini with my second remote and he likes that size.

The other thing to think about is processor speed. I'm pretty sure the app is doing some heavy lifting, but if the 5s is supported that may not be a problem.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
204
Reaction score
110
Age
38
I use my iPhone 6+ on full brightness and it works quite well. I have an iPad Air 2 which I usually hand off to whoever is controlling the camera.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
30
Age
49
I use my iPhone 6 without issue. I like the form factor since it really does push me to LOS rather than stare at the screen for flying. So yes, it works great, great for framing the shot.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
73
Reaction score
10
Age
45
I've been meaning to try my iPhone 6. Can someone tell me if the phone charges when connected to the remote?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
30
Age
49
I never really noticed to be honest. I can look tonight but I do not believe it charges.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2013
Messages
86
Reaction score
7
Website
www.youtube.com
Iphone 6 & 6+ work fine. It's just a matter if the display is too small for you. I'm using it until my Shield is delivered.

I can confirm that it doesn't charge when connected.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Website
instagram.com
I've used both and prefer the iPad. However, I don't think I would've purchased an iPad just for this. The iPhone alone would've suited me just fine.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
93
Reaction score
59
I used an iPhone 5 for my Phantom 2 Vision+, and then a Samsung S5. Now I use the S5 for the inspire and it works great. It's nice to not need the second bra the Inspire came with, as the S5 is light enough to just hand hold ( and frankly one bra is enough to get uncomfortable LOL).
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
434
Reaction score
253
The 5S will not have the AE lock. That is the only iOS device. If that is not an issue you are fine.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
also does it make me use separate screens for camera/map? i don't seem to have the option of the floating map window bottom right (unless i've missed it)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
204
Reaction score
110
Age
38
also does it make me use separate screens for camera/map? i don't seem to have the option of the floating map window bottom right (unless i've missed it)
It is something you can turn in in settings. I have a second screen on the bottom right (iPhone 6+)
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
3
Location
Arizona
I've been meaning to try my iPhone 6. Can someone tell me if the phone charges when connected to the remote?
It does not charge, you should see a message next to the battery top right, saying 'not charging'
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,831
Messages
193,590
Members
29,207
Latest member
Raveneye