Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Beginner Pilot Need Opinion. Bricked aircraft straight out of box.

Reaction score
Hi everyone. New to the inspire but I have a lot of experience flying with a mavic pro.
The problem is this. Received my Inspire 1 V1 on Friday and was super excited so took it out of the box and powered on aircraft and remote with iPad connected. The app told me I needed to update the RC before being able to fly. (I've heard that RC update before aircraft update can cause problems). So I tried updating twice and said it failed both time. However upon checking, it seemed like it updated fine...version 1.7.something.

Then I tried taking the aircraft out of travel mode with the 4 quick toggles. Nothing. I managed the link the RC with the aircraft and interestingly enough the app is showing the battery data but when I connect the camera and gimbal (with inspire still in travel mode) I get no image transmission and the app says the gimbal is disconnected. Is it normal for the aircraft to not register the gimbal when it's in travel mode.

Basically I'm trying to figure out how to maybe fix this before sending it back. Is it possible that downgrading the RC firmware will allow me to unlock the aircraft from travel mode so that I can get the aircraft fw updated?

I've not run into this issue but, you can lower the landing gear manually using the included jack-screw driver inserted into the base of the airframe. Wind down your gear and attach the camera gear and see if that corrects the problem. If that doesn't remedy this then delete FW on the airframe and reinstall by the update instructions. Hopefully that should take care of you.

The AC should see the camera regardless of the position of the landing gear. Look at the pins on the connector to see if any are bent or corroded.