Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Cendence Master Controller - Inspire Slave

Discussion in 'Inspire 2 Discussion' started by Craig S, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Craig S

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi People,
    About to purchase an Inspire 2.
    With a Cendence master controller, am I able to use the stock Inspire controller as the slave/camera operator or do I need identical controllers?
    Thanks
     
  2. Advexure

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hi Craig, welcome to the forum. Good question, it is not a problem and a very typical setup to was a Cendence as your master an and I2 remote as your slave of vice versa. Either can be used in either role and have their benefits for serving as the slave or master.

    Don’t hesitate to reach out with any further questions. We are here to help and if we can assist in putting together the necessary Inspire 2 bundle for you drop us a line, PM, or email. Enjoy the I2 and safe flying!
     
    boefinator likes this.
  3. Craig S

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you for the response. That has sorted that issue out.
    I'm in Australia which makes purchasing tricky in the sense or warranty and servicing, unless you can set me on the right path
     
    Advexure likes this.
  4. Advexure

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You bet. We’ve worked with Rise Above in Sydney with one of our local clients who was shooting a doc in Australia and they were a pleasure to work with and are recommended as a reputable DJI partner. Cheers!
     
  5. Craig S

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks - They're in Sydney, My local DJI dealer in Melbourne is the same price to them for everything. It appears I can't buy from the U.S. and save dollars on DJI. Cant see why everything costs much more than currency conversion and shipping costs. A middle man somewhere is making easy money.

    Do you ship to OZ?
     
  6. Mr Mister

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just bought the Cendence along with a CrystalSky monitor to do exactly what you are doing. I'll be using the Cendence as the master and the stock remote as the slave. Everything seems to be working as expected, but I'll know more after this weekend. I'm involved with a short film where they want all drone shots done over the weekend. I'll be using the master to fly and the camera operator will be using the slave.

    The only quirks I have found so far are:

    When the slave controller is in use, the person operating the camera can only get to camera settings (iso, shutter, etc.) by touching the screen and adjusting through the go app manually. It's kind of a bummer since you can control these settings via the wheels when the stock controller is in master mode.

    I had to unprogram the c2 button on the slave that used to control the FPV screen. Even in slave mode, if it is pressed, it toggles the FPV on the slave AND the master. Easy fix though.

    We have an upcoming shot where where the focus needs to be changed manually twice during the shot. Since the slave has no focus controls other than the slider on the screen, I'll probably have to pull focus from the master. Not the end of the world, but it will be interesting. I suppose this issue is resolved if I buy another Cendence.

    Good luck!
     
  7. Craig S

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for that and looking forward to hearing of your experience of shooting. Just got to ask though, if the Cendence was the slave, does it lose all camera control too and then has to run of the app? Because my thinking is that the camera operator would have the Cendence for better camera control rather than the other way around.
     
    Storyworks likes this.
  8. Mr Mister

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    The Cendence works great as the slave. In my case, I'm just being selfish because I want to use the Cendence while I control the bird. I can already see where this is going - two Cendence controllers in the very near future!

    I'll update after the shoot is done this weekend.
     
  9. Craig S

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah, and the dollars too. Cheers
     
    Mr Mister likes this.
  10. DamesNY

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    54
    The only glitch I’ve found is that with the 16mm lens, x7 and cendence you lose manual focus control with the cendence knob.
    Went to dealer and we swapped out all components individually and got the same result. All latest firmwares. The second we put the 24,35 or 50 focus control went back to norm
     
    Mr Mister likes this.
  11. Paul Nordin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    46
    From experience, you will be much better off buying a DJI Focus Wheel 2, than a second Cendence (although combining both for the Camera Op would be a nice luxury). The FW2 is FAR superior to pulling focus than the focus knob on the Cendence. In particular, when you first turn the focus knob on the Cendence, the lens is set to near/far focus, so whatever the lens was set to is reset and that causes a momentary loss of focus...very bad if in the middle of a shot. The FW2 does not do that. Also, the granularity of the Cendence focus knob is really coarse, so a tiny turn makes a huge difference...really hard to hit a focus mark with.

    We have been having a great deal of luck with the pilot on Cendence, and CamOp on I2 RC with FW2.
     
  12. Paul Nordin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ha! So glad, in a twisted way, to learn that I am not alone in experiencing this problem. Good news is that the Focus Wheel 2 works perfectly with the 16mm.
     
  13. Mr Mister

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is great information. I'll look into the focus wheel. Thanks!