Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Disabling the No Fly Zone protection

Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
56
Age
52
Has anybody figured out a way to disable the No Fly Zone protection on the Inspire or are we stuffed on that front? The reason I ask is I have a shoot inside a large hangar near an airport. the flying would all be done inside but I'm assuming the NFZ will not allow it anyway as I'm sure GPS would still be attained.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
No.

Envoyé de mon SM-G920F en utilisant Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
1,443
Reaction score
522
Has anybody figured out a way to disable the No Fly Zone protection on the Inspire or are we stuffed on that front? The reason I ask is I have a shoot inside a large hangar near an airport. the flying would all be done inside but I'm assuming the NFZ will not allow it anyway as I'm sure GPS would still be attained.
Unfortunately to be able to do that, we need a non consumer oriented strategy from DJI. Professional UAV/RPAS pilots are perfectly capable of deciding where to fly and where not.
Consumers however, need to be protected (read DJI) against their ignorance. And as long as DJI is not targeting the Inspire1 specifically towards the commercial, professional pilot, they will nanny us. Their other high end flight control systems are not crippled with no fly zones, but obviously those are not for the masses. The I1 neither in my perspective but DJI thinks differently. They even threw the whole software development for the I1 and the obviously consumer targeted P3's on the same pile. We're at the mercy of the nitwits.

Actually: A no fly zone is a form of autonomous operation. The craft itself makes the decision not to fly. And it happens that autonomous operation is still illegal for professional use, and probably stay illegal for a long time. It is simply not safe that there are features in the operational control of the craft that can't be influenced by the pilot.

It might eventually even lead to not certifying a I1 for professional use anymore.

Our Dutch police force and fire departments ordered a good many I1's. Wonder how they look at that. They surely should be able to fly in a no fly zone at times.
 
  • Like
Reactions: VAP
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
73
Reaction score
11
Age
51
I'm not one to try it, but would disabling (unplugging) the gps work?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
Age
59
Location
Myrtle Beach and Pawleys Island, South Carolina
There are a number of different no fly zones. Most of which have altitude limitations near airports, structures, etc. Others are verboten all together. These are things like military and Federal facilities that are protecting our countries secrets. And then there are places like Washington DC where they are prohibited to protect political stupidity. Politicians hate it when we lambs know what they are really up to.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
if you are shooting inside a hanger its highly unlikely you will be able to get a gps signal
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
353
Reaction score
98
Has anybody figured out a way to disable the No Fly Zone protection on the Inspire or are we stuffed on that front? The reason I ask is I have a shoot inside a large hangar near an airport. the flying would all be done inside but I'm assuming the NFZ will not allow it anyway as I'm sure GPS would still be attained.

U can take off the top plastic on the I1 and disconnect the GPS or you can make a "hat" out of aluminum foil so the GPS cannot communicate. I have tried both of these methods personally and they work 100%. You will probably get answers from lots of folks who have never tried these methods, but will offer you their "theories", (so please consider the source). ;)
 
Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
56
Age
52
Thanks for the tips. I'll have a play with the tin foil hat idea and see if I can come up with something that doesn't get blown off by the prop wash.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
732
Reaction score
149
Age
38
Just be careful if you fly inside without GPS, if it picks up a signal during flight it may use it, and it might not be a good signal, I would try for the complete disconnect over a foil hat if possible. .. .

Ive flown inside and had a bad GPS signal kick in, it wasnt much fun
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
Not sure how you're able to even get a gps signal indoors, lots of skylights maybe? Lol Make sure the vision positioning system is turned on and I would use atti mode. Disconnect or tinfoil hat sounds like the best idea if you are able to get a gps signal indoors which is highly unlikely. Also it may not even be necessary, check their nfz map, contrary to popular belief not every airport is blocked by software, not all airports with commercial traffic are blocked.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
831
Reaction score
368
I have flown in similar circumstances with my Phantom 3 (indoors at a machine shop neighbouring a major airport), and although the app warned me I was in a no-fly zone, it took off and flew just fine (in atti mode mind you). I thought this to be very strange as my Phantom 2 would not even take off.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
247
Reaction score
60
Location
Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
Just be careful if you fly inside without GPS, if it picks up a signal during flight it may use it, and it might not be a good signal, I would try for the complete disconnect over a foil hat if possible. .. .

Ive flown inside and had a bad GPS signal kick in, it wasnt much fun

Isn't that what the flight mode switch on the transmitter is for? Why bother disconnecting or making hats when you can just simply flip the switch to manual mode?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
Isn't that what the flight mode switch on the transmitter is for? Why bother disconnecting or making hats when you can just simply flip the switch to manual mode?
I think the no fly zones are still enforced in atti mode
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
Tried it have you?
yup, being indoors blocks gps signal every time for me, unless youre next to a window perhaps. Doesnt work in my house, but i do have a metal roof. Power up your inspire in your house away from any windows and see if you get gps lock, id very much doubt it even through asphalt and wood residential building, no possible way its going to penetrate a commercial metal building, unless it has skylights maybe, lol
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
732
Reaction score
149
Age
38
yup, being indoors blocks gps signal every time for me, unless youre next to a window perhaps. Doesnt work in my house, but i do have a metal roof. Power up your inspire in your house away from any windows and see if you get gps lock, id very much doubt it even through asphalt and wood residential building, no possible way its going to penetrate a commercial metal building, unless it has skylights maybe, lol
or if you are flying under a single layer roof that isnt metalic.......

People flying inside should really be careful, I got a flashing green light in my warehouse the other day. That coudl have caused me some big issues if I had been flying
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
or if you are flying under a single layer roof that isnt metalic.......

People flying inside should really be careful, I got a flashing green light in my warehouse the other day. That coudl have caused me some big issues if I had been flying
they are designed to fly indoors with the vision positioning system, however youre supposed to use atti mode as any errant gps signal you might get inside a building would be very unreliable and could disrupt flight, not a chance id want to take.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
732
Reaction score
149
Age
38
they are designed to fly indoors with the vision positioning system, however youre supposed to use atti mode as any errant gps signal you might get inside a building would be very unreliable and could disrupt flight, not a chance id want to take.
correct, the problem being that the VPS is a pile of useless shite. I was thinking about actualyl removing mine and seeing what happens... the only problem with removing it being that in an auto landing situation it would then definatly not know its height...... although in practice the thing is worse than useless and I think id rather it just came down slowly until it hits the floor and tries a yaw twist like the phantom
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,722
Messages
192,877
Members
29,094
Latest member
DALF80