Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

E800 Motors

Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
1,144
Reaction score
657
Location
South Florida, USA
Several people here have talked about switching the stock motors on the I1 with the E800s. I read that someone, I think it was Blade Strike, said that the motors on the I1 are the E800.

Blade, was that you? o_O

If not, I apologize in advance. :oops:
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,008
Reaction score
5,256
The Inspire motors ARE the E800's - or more commonly referred to as 3510/350's
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
123
Reaction score
53
Age
59
I was looking at the E800 Kit because my Inspire 1 has dead motors and DJI for some reason wont sell the Inspire 1 motors?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
225
Reaction score
111
Age
36
Location
Florida, USA
I think people are getting confused because of the new props and "prop-Locking" system that will be coming out. The motors themselves are the same.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,008
Reaction score
5,256
The E800's ARE the Inspire motors !... There is no difference! 3510 KV350's is what the Inspire runs.
In fact any 3510/350's pancake style would work providing they would sync with the DJI esc's.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Location
Harrisburg Pennsylvania
Now I am really confused. Yesterday I called DJI in LA and they told me they were compatable and they sold me a kit to replace all four motors for $319.00. The product I bought was, E800 (4*Motor/ESC; 4 pair props; Accessories pack; Updater for ESC). He said they was made to update my Inspire. So I am very confused now.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
561
Reaction score
242
Age
32
Location
Seattle, Washington
Website
www.skylab-imaging.com
Yes as Juan said you cannot install the e800 motors on the inspire or any similar motor, they kinda fucked us this way. The inspire motors screws are installed horizontally (the motor mounts are vertical unlike traditional installs)

There was someon on here that had some good pics of the motor removal, I'll see if I can dig it up.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Location
Harrisburg Pennsylvania
Thank you skylabimaging for your input but the confusion on this issue only grows. After reading Juan's post I called DJI in LA again and they reasured me that the E800 motors will mount in the Inspire but you have to replace the ESC module as well, which I ordered with the motors. I guess the only way for me to clear up this confusion is wait and see what comes in the mail and how they do or do not mount in my Inspire.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
561
Reaction score
242
Age
32
Location
Seattle, Washington
Website
www.skylab-imaging.com
I took the liberty of removing a motor to show everyone here. Seemed faster than searching for an old thread :/

image.jpg

Any way the pic should show you what I was referring to and why standard motors won't work. So unless they've changed the way they build the esc/motor mounts since jan 15 (my was qc'd on that month) standard motors can't be mounted...so whoever you've been talking to at dji is a dumbass, which isn't surprising

The funny part is this system doesn't make any sense at all, they had to make 2 bases for the same motor, they could have cut costs by using the standard e800 motor.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Location
Harrisburg Pennsylvania
I just got off the phone with DJI (my third call on this issue) asking for clarification on the motors. The first two calls I spoke with the same person named Bryon. This last time I spoke with a guy named Nik. Nik told me what skylabimage and Juan are saying that the E800 motors will not fit the Inspire and my only option is the send the Inspire in for service. My response was almost off the chart in anger. My intional call telling me they would mount right in the Inspire and I place my order for 4 motors and then calling back and Bryon telling me again they would work and everyone else is a idiot. How can a company servive doing business like this is beyond me.

Anyway, thanks Juan and skylabimage for the help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: skylabimaging
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
34
Reaction score
17
Age
45
Don't send the inspire in, look for inspire motor on ebay, there's a guy selling parts for the inspire, he dismantles inspires and sells parts. Not cheap though.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
561
Reaction score
242
Age
32
Location
Seattle, Washington
Website
www.skylab-imaging.com
I just got off the phone with DJI (my third call on this issue) asking for clarification on the motors. The first two calls I spoke with the same person named Bryon. This last time I spoke with a guy named Nik. Nik told me what skylabimage and Juan are saying that the E800 motors will not fit the Inspire and my only option is the send the Inspire in for service. My response was almost off the chart in anger. My intional call telling me they would mount right in the Inspire and I place my order for 4 motors and then calling back and Bryon telling me again they would work and everyone else is a idiot. How can a company servive doing business like this is beyond me.

Anyway, thanks Juan and skylabimage for the help.
No problem. I don't know how new you are to DJI but they've been worthless for customer support from the very beginning. I never expect any type of customer service from them, I use these forums and others for support. As more people crash and breakdown the Inspire we learn more about the build side of them.

The reason they are in business - What else are you gonna buy? Sadly they dominate the market as far as rtf aerial video platforms go.

There is clearly a market for an adapter plate to make these motors fit.
I'm no CAD operator but I couldn't imagine it would be too difficult to design one.

I'd buy a set just to switch to the standard e800 motors, the less proprietary we can make this thing the better
 
  • Like
Reactions: JayVapes
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
244
Age
41
No problem. I don't know how new you are to DJI but they've been worthless for customer support from the very beginning. I never expect any type of customer service from them, I use these forums and others for support. As more people crash and breakdown the Inspire we learn more about the build side of them.

The reason they are in business - What else are you gonna buy? Sadly they dominate the market as far as rtf aerial video platforms go.



I'm no CAD operator but I couldn't imagine it would be too difficult to design one.

I'd buy a set just to switch to the standard e800 motors, the less proprietary we can make this thing the better
Next question is the ESC from the new E800. It does not look to be plug and play with the Inspire. Will the ESC in the AC work with the new motors if we make an adapter?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
466
Reaction score
199
Age
71
Location
Dorset, UK
Do we need to make an adapter?
Is it not possible to swap the internals from the E800 to the casings of the existing mounts?
Or have I missed something obvious?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
244
Age
41
Do we need to make an adapter?
Is it not possible to swap the internals from the E800 to the casings of the existing mounts?
Or have I missed something obvious?
No. The feet and base of the stock motor are bonded to the internals.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
94
Reaction score
29
Age
55
hmm .. one thing is sure, eventually every motor on every inspire will need to be replaced. if the only option for this inevitable service is to ship your equipment back to the manufacturer then I am far less happy than I was a minute ago.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,735
Messages
192,939
Members
29,104
Latest member
Xrious