Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Jump in and join our free DJI Inspire community today!

USA First police interaction

I am a part 107 pilot which is perhaps irrelevant to the story.

On thanksgiving morning I was at a local county park filming 4x4 off road trucks climb obstacles and run through the mud when a pair of park police officers approached and told me it is against the rules to fly drones in the park.

I was polite but stern. Michigan has a uas preemption law that prohibits local units of government from regulating the use, ownership, or operation of drones. I empathized with their position as their boss told them drones are not allowed. I told them i will make sure to follow up with their boss to fix this issue but I explained that this event is one day only and I am going to continue to fly and will of course make sure to do it safely.

I went back to flying and they drove away. I was prepared to receive a citation for my non-compliance but I was confident in my position that they lack the authority to regulate drones.

Thankfully, that was the end of the interaction.

In my opinion The place to discuss these issues is administratively, not with officers in the field.

I went home, researched both the park rules and the state law, then tracked down the email for the director and deputy director.

In my opinion, their own rule does NOT prohibit use of unmanned aircraft and even if it did, state law is clear on this issue.

I’ll keep you posted.

My city does have an ordinance in place that prohibits drones from city parks so they could cite someone if needed. It comes out annually in the City Parks Recreation Guide in small print in the back cover. I have run into situations even on a large seemingly vacant dirt field miles from town that was considered "Critical Infrastructure" due to the land being owned by a water bank. Some solar and wind farms are appearing on the NFZ maps too. Nearby lakes are U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and off limits too.