Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

GEO System - UK Airports made Restricted Zones

Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
1,261
Reaction score
594
Location
Buckie, Scotland, UK
Website
www.moraysky.co.uk
Most of the UK's major airports now appear on the DJI GEO unlock map as Restricted Zones (see DJI GEO System - Unlock Areas For Authorized Access). This will mean that those who thought they would be able to fly with ATC approval will not be able to unlock these areas. This is despite the fact that those areas designated as Prohibited Areas (Faslane/Coulport, Harwell, Dounreay) and other no fly areas (eg. nuclear power stations and prisons) are not restricted.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,857
Reaction score
5,717
Most of the UK's major airports now appear on the DJI GEO unlock map as Restricted Zones (see DJI GEO System - Unlock Areas For Authorized Access). This will mean that those who thought they would be able to fly with ATC approval will not be able to unlock these areas. This is despite the fact that those areas designated as Prohibited Areas (Faslane/Coulport, Harwell, Dounreay) and other no fly areas (eg. nuclear power stations and prisons) are not restricted.
They just cannot seem to get it right can they?
Unfortunately, by going this route (again) makes the platform useless as a professional tool going forward.

Just out of interest does anybody know whether the A3 has Nanny Zones? @FlyHighUSA - Ralph, have you test flown an A3 yet to see how it performs?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
1,261
Reaction score
594
Location
Buckie, Scotland, UK
Website
www.moraysky.co.uk
Scrolling around the UK map the airports affected includes: Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton, Stansted, London City, Southampton, East Midlands, Birmingham, Leeds/Bradford, Newcastle, Glasgow and others I may have missed. All are high usage airports. The Restricted Zones vary in size to cover the airport and runways. One reason for this is probably that its is too easy to unlock the Authorisation Zones. Maybe the CAA has had an input.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
1,053
Reaction score
396
Age
49
I think that in the next future companies and/or people can buy a license at DJI to get DJI drones away from their property.Or something like this.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
1,443
Reaction score
522
They just cannot seem to get it right can they?
Unfortunately, by going this route (again) makes the platform useless as a professional tool going forward.

Just out of interest does anybody know whether the A3 has Nanny Zones? @FlyHighUSA - Ralph, have you test flown an A3 yet to see how it performs?
The Matrice 600 is using the same bloody app as our I1. And it's using A3.
So.....hmm.
But DJI can still do things differently in the A3 firmware. I cross my fingers that they really have the commercial/professional users in mind this time.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,857
Reaction score
5,717
The Matrice 600 is using the same bloody app as our I1. And it's using A3.
So.....hmm.
Ohhh.....that doesn't sound good. Are the NFZ's actually implemented though or are they switched off?

Still, on the plus side at least if you invest in the A3 you still get to use the excellent video editor and social media sharing within the app. That's got to be worth the investment alone!! :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: slim.slamma
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
1,146
Reaction score
394
Age
50
Location
Munfordville Ky
Website
www.flyhighusa.com
They just cannot seem to get it right can they?
Unfortunately, by going this route (again) makes the platform useless as a professional tool going forward.

Just out of interest does anybody know whether the A3 has Nanny Zones? @FlyHighUSA - Ralph, have you test flown an A3 yet to see how it performs?
The A3 is performing flawlessly so far, I am very happy with the stability, it seems much more stable than the A2 or the N1. I have only flown it in my particular area so far. So far so good!!!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
1,261
Reaction score
594
Location
Buckie, Scotland, UK
Website
www.moraysky.co.uk
Main GEO System Web page has lost its beta caveats and many more UK airports, airfields and military bases are now marked as red Restricted Zones (DJI GEO System - Unlock Areas For Authorized Access). Those users hoping that DJI wouls provide the ability to fly with permission at airports will be deeply disappointed. There is no indication when the DJI GO app will be added to exploit the GEO System; the firmware 1.9 is GEO enabled.
 
Joined
May 14, 2015
Messages
220
Reaction score
43
Location
East Sussex, UK
Main GEO System Web page has lost its beta caveats and many more UK airports, airfields and military bases are now marked as red Restricted Zones (DJI GEO System - Unlock Areas For Authorized Access). Those users hoping that DJI wouls provide the ability to fly with permission at airports will be deeply disappointed. There is no indication when the DJI GO app will be added to exploit the GEO System; the firmware 1.9 is GEO enabled.

Android v2.8.2 appears to have it and IOS coming soon according to this:

GEO is now available on Android, IOS soon
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Age
43
My iOS app updated yesterday say it now has Geo. just need to update the inspire and hopefully geo is functional and I can finally do a job I've been needing to do for two months.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
21,388
Messages
205,273
Members
31,133
Latest member
Inspiredflight