Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Hello from the western slope

Reaction score
Well, new to drones and aerial photography but have been an amateur/enthusiast photographer since jr high (which is a very long time), and one-time professional videographer. I'm currently living in Colorado between ski towns and love spending time making great pictures in the deserts of Utah, Nevada and in the mountains of colorful Colorado. I had hoped to be unboxing my Inspire 1 pro and playing around with the zenmuse X5 on an Osmo handle this weekend, but unfortunately it is sitting on a truck somewhere in Wyoming thanks to the storm earlier this week.

I'm currently studying for part 107 certification. Not because I necessarily want to be a pro, but because I figure it will make me a better pilot. Also it will allow me to legally fly in spaces not open to purely amateur pilots. My opinion is that the certification process is probably a test case for further licensing requirements anyway, similar to amateur radio's testing and licensing requirement for operating privileges. I wasn't entirely certain I wanted a UAV until I started looking at the Zenmuse x5 and some of the online shootout videos. If it is as good as they claim, it isn't just a good UAV camera, it's a good enough camera for all around shooting, especially for a talented hobbyist.

Welcome RK.. I live in the colorful mountains of Utah. Glad to welcome a neighbor.

And good decision on the 107 cert. It was very helpful to me to understand the laws and regulations. And from my experience, the FAA has actually been quite helpful, even though they did not quite expect the response to UAS use that they have received.. I think they are trying.. but as any government agency, it's going to take a while.