Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

How many satellites?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by DjiQuadzilla, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. DjiQuadzilla

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    169
    I have seen where people have asked this question and I was also curious but when I hooked it up to the external monitor it shows up in the top right 13 satellites and is going up and down :) image.jpg
     
  2. SloMo

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    30
    I use an external hdmi monitor just to see sat counts. This is just until DJI adds this feature in the app.
     
    DjiQuadzilla likes this.
  3. DjiQuadzilla

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    169
    Hmmmmm 13 satellites I may just take him up for a spin inside lol ;)
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    That's a combination of GPS and Glonass
     
    DjiQuadzilla likes this.
  5. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    252
    Bad news guys. I am testing the newest version of the Inspire firmware and the number of sats in now gone in HDMI. I have requested that they restore this in the App and in the HDMI display. It is now Chinese New Year and so they will be dark for the next week.
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  6. Eliran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    So, I can presume that Inspire 1 uses Glonass AND Navistar simultaneously?
     
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    What is Navistar? I thought they made commercial trucks?
     
  8. DjiQuadzilla

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    169
    Oh man that's a real bummer !!! I feel it's a good thing to have especially over the bar graph.
     
  9. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    330
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    We all do and don't understand the reasoning behind them removing it. It's a bummer for sure.
     
    DjiQuadzilla likes this.
  10. Eliran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
    Navistar is the GPS Sat system that your country gave to the world to use. Glonass is the Russian one.
     
  11. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    No it isn't! NAVSTAR is the network of US GPS positioning satellites. NAVISTAR make trucks! :)
     
  12. Eliran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    17
  13. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    549
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Do all DJI products use both NAVSTAR AND GLONASS?
     
  14. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    Only the newer ones.
    The older Phantoms didn't.
     
  15. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    549
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    I thought so. Couldn't find any references in the manuals.Thanks.
     
  16. NickOfLeeds

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Does anyone know if there is any evidence from DJI that the Inspire 1 Pro uses multiple satellite systems for GNSS?
     
  17. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    GLONASS and NAVSTAR (GPS) only at this stage.
     
  18. NickOfLeeds

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Thanks... but I'm looking for some evidence to support that... I have an OSC application being considered and i have included references to those satellite systems but i'm still coming up short with supporting evidence just in case i'm challenged. The annoying thing is that I wouldnt have included that if i hadn't read it somewhere!
     
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    Ah, I see. Less is more sometimes. :)
    Usually, the maximum number of satellites viewable from any one constellation is around 12 (certainly in the UK you will be lucky to see that number on one constellation). That is the maximum amount above the horizon at any one time.
    You will often see 14-16 satellites in the UK on the Inspire platform which can only mean it is receiving more than one constellation.
    There is also reference to both systems in DJI tech specs if I remember correctly (although they keep changing the page)
     
    emtea likes this.