Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

I1 remote customization

Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
78
Reaction score
40
Age
45
Location
Orange County, California
Hi folks,

I am in the midst of trying to upgrade my remote control's antennae.

I have seen pics of others doing the same.

A brief inspection of the RC reveals 4 screws on the back for the Hdmi ports cover. Is this a good starting point?

Looking for your advice before I break something.

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
Hi folks,

I am in the midst of trying to upgrade my remote control's antennae.

I have seen pics of others doing the same.

A brief inspection of the RC reveals 4 screws on the back for the Hdmi ports cover. Is this a good starting point?

Looking for your advice before I break something.

Thanks
It's not advisable to mod your rc unless you're good at soldering on a micro board..
turbo. .
 
  • Like
Reactions: NEJO/Wisconsin
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
247
Reaction score
60
Location
Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
Hi folks,

I am in the midst of trying to upgrade my remote control's antennae.

I have seen pics of others doing the same.

A brief inspection of the RC reveals 4 screws on the back for the Hdmi ports cover. Is this a good starting point?

Looking for your advice before I break something.

Thanks

And if you need to come on a forum and ask if the 4 screws you see are a good place to start taking the remote apart......it's probably not advisable you go any further.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
429
Reaction score
50
Age
38
And if you need to come on a forum and ask if the 4 screws you see are a good place to start taking the remote apart......it's probably not advisable you go any further.
agree :) lol
youtube... if you have the spare amount of money to buy another one...
 
  • Like
Reactions: PB30X
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
203
Reaction score
35
Age
69
Hi folks,

I am in the midst of trying to upgrade my remote control's antennae.

I have seen pics of others doing the same.

A brief inspection of the RC reveals 4 screws on the back for the Hdmi ports cover. Is this a good starting point?

Looking for your advice before I break something.

Thanks
I prefer to let somone that knows what they are doing. I have Tony at FPIR working on mine. He has three levels of antenna and amp choices and he is proven. Cheap no, good...No great!
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
78
Reaction score
40
Age
45
Location
Orange County, California
Do I really need to be the guy to say enough with the sarcasm? I am sorry if I didn't take the time to give you my resume or my background. No, I am not going online to ask simply about 4 screws. I was in a hurry and was kind of hoping someone would just say, yep, that is the starting point and here is where you go from there..

I learn a lot from reading this forum. I also learn how many can jump on the bandwagon like a pack of wolves when blood is in the air.

This IS a hobby. I asked a question which, of course, I still did not get an answer. What I did get is a bunch of low life sarcastic answers.

@ Daniel - I have read great things about Tony and his work. I don't want to send my RC off just yet. I'd rather learn/refine my skills in attempt to do it myself.

@turbodronepilot - I do have experience soldiering. Not sure what I have to deal with once I open up the RC. I have repaired the main circuit board twice on my previous P2's. Also working on a custom gimbal for my FLIR Tau 2 640. I just got the Wearsaver board which will be easier to work with than playing around with the VPC board.

And while I am not an expert drone guy, I can at least recognize that I have a lot to learn. I'd rather be learning a new craft then spending my spare time trolling around on the forums.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BrianSelf
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
Do I really need to be the guy to say enough with the sarcasm? I am sorry if I didn't take the time to give you my resume or my background. No, I am not going online to ask simply about 4 screws. I was in a hurry and was kind of hoping someone would just say, yep, that is the starting point and here is where you go from there..

I learn a lot from reading this forum. I also learn how many can jump on the bandwagon like a pack of wolves when blood is in the air.

This IS a hobby. I asked a question which, of course, I still did not get an answer. What I did get is a bunch of low life sarcastic answers.

@ Daniel - I have read great things about Tony and his work. I don't want to send my RC off just yet. I'd rather learn/refine my skills in attempt to do it myself.

@turbodronepilot - I do have experience soldiering. Not sure what I have to deal with once I open up the RC. I have repaired the main circuit board twice on my previous P2's. Also working on a custom gimbal for my FLIR Tau 2 640. I just got the Wearsaver board which will be easier to work with than playing around with the VPC board.

And while I am not an expert drone guy, I can at least recognize that I have a lot to learn. I'd rather be learning a new craft then spending my spare time trolling around on the forums.
I feel ya gbizzy ..
I was just passing on what I learned from trolling on here and trying to help out..sorry I didn't give you the answer you wanted to hear..
Im all for doing it yourself. .
sounds like you have the skills necessary to pull it off. .
go for it!!!
Turbotroll...lol..
 
  • Like
Reactions: NEJO/Wisconsin
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
I did see something a while back on rcgoups.com were a guy showed how he opened his controller and installed antennas. .
maybe do a search for antenna mod in the inspire section. .
turbo. .
 
  • Like
Reactions: NEJO/Wisconsin

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,002
Reaction score
5,253
Hi folks,

I am in the midst of trying to upgrade my remote control's antennae.

I have seen pics of others doing the same.

A brief inspection of the RC reveals 4 screws on the back for the Hdmi ports cover. Is this a good starting point?

Looking for your advice before I break something.

Thanks
A few things to bear in mind when modifying your transmitter.

1. You will void any warranty you have on the product (but you probably realise that and it's YOUR device so your choice)
2. Depending on where you are located in the world you will be breaking the law by using a modified fixed antenna transmitting device since you will be altering the EIRP emitted by using antennas with a higher gain. (Perhaps you are aware of that and choose to ignore it......again your choice)
3. A badly modified TX or poor antenna design will increase the standing wave ratio and possibly cause the final output stage of your transmitter to heat up and ultimately fail necessitating a costly repair.

I cannot condone or advise the pros or cons of such modifications but felt I should point out some factors that you may not be aware of.

Again, it is YOUR equipment and you are free to do what you want with it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kilrah
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
78
Reaction score
40
Age
45
Location
Orange County, California
Thanks for the advice. I am not looking to set distance records. What I find is that in Search and Rescue scenarios, its easy to put some distance between the UAV and myself if I fly towards the mountains LoS. I was hoping to create a base station like a handful of others have done by externalizing the antennae. I know there is more to it than that. There was a Search and Rescue tonight that I could have assisted with but the range I needed to cover was beyond the capabilities of my Tx. I think they are still looking for the hiker even though air support has been called off.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
429
Reaction score
50
Age
38
i'd really check youtube about linking and extending antennas. someone somewhere has surley done it before... i didnt mean to be sarcastic. sorry. i thought of when something really goes wrong to have a backup.
 
Joined
May 7, 2014
Messages
29
Reaction score
32
And people wonder why there are so many postings of crashes, flyaways and dead Inspires? How about learning to use the equipment as it's meant to be straight out of the box?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
203
Reaction score
35
Age
69
Do I really need to be the guy to say enough with the sarcasm? I am sorry if I didn't take the time to give you my resume or my background. No, I am not going online to ask simply about 4 screws. I was in a hurry and was kind of hoping someone would just say, yep, that is the starting point and here is where you go from there..

I learn a lot from reading this forum. I also learn how many can jump on the bandwagon like a pack of wolves when blood is in the air.

This IS a hobby. I asked a question which, of course, I still did not get an answer. What I did get is a bunch of low life sarcastic answers.

@ Daniel - I have read great things about Tony and his work. I don't want to send my RC off just yet. I'd rather learn/refine my skills in attempt to do it myself.

@turbodronepilot - I do have experience soldiering. Not sure what I have to deal with once I open up the RC. I have repaired the main circuit board twice on my previous P2's. Also working on a custom gimbal for my FLIR Tau 2 640. I just got the Wearsaver board which will be easier to work with than playing around with the VPC board.

And while I am not an expert drone guy, I can at least recognize that I have a lot to learn. I'd rather be learning a new craft then spending my spare time trolling around on the forums.
I am very interested in thermal imagery and what your experiences have been using it?

I m curious about color thermal using it for agricultural crops and possibly in some uses on finding wild hogs and their control. We have millions of dollars in damaged crops due to wild hogs in the Gulf Coast of Texas.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kcobello

Mazz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
959
Reaction score
592
Location
NY
Thanks for turning the troll bus around folks. I will have a look for that youtube video.

Cheers
I think you did that yourself, and quite well I would add. Kudos. Some people can not handle it that well. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: qbizzy
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
947
Reaction score
264
Age
37
Location
Hungary
Website
www.phat.hu
I actually didn't think of being it in means of having no intention. my english is just not that good sometimes. sorry.
that's for my part though.
I try to stay nice as long as they are nice to me... :D
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
78
Reaction score
40
Age
45
Location
Orange County, California
I am very interested in thermal imagery and what your experiences have been using it?

I m curious about color thermal using it for agricultural crops and possibly in some uses on finding wild hogs and their control. We have millions of dollars in damaged crops due to wild hogs in the Gulf Coast of Texas.
I too am excited of what can be done with FLIR. Since there are no custom gimbals available that works with the I1, I will most likely use my P2 which is recovering from playing Plinko with an Oak Tree.

There are two companies to pay attention to: Sightline Solutions out of Oregon and Microhard in Calgary, AB. I am working with both companies to make some neat encoding and down streaming capabilities. Both companies have a lot of experience working with FLIR. Both companies currently make components that are used in the military-grade UAVs and... both will be at AUVSI.

As soon as I get my Tau up in the air, I will gladly post some pics. For now, here are some pics of my dog in my backyard, in pure darkness. IMG_7748.PNG IMG_7749.PNG IMG_7750.PNG
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
19,717
Messages
192,831
Members
29,090
Latest member
Drnflyr