Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

IACRA Application Online?

Reaction score
I completed the Part 107 Course at FAASafety.gov I have a PPL with Single/Multi and a BFR dated January 2016. Has anyone figured out how to apply for the 107 via IACRA? It either isn't possible yet, or I don't know how to make it give me the sUAS option.

Reactions: GuyNamedLindsey
I just took the course online and got the certificate. Not sure what you're asking exactly.
The certificate you get at the end doesn't let you do anything; it's just a piece of the information required for the application package for Remote Pilot in Command.

I do not see it in IACRA yet. It would be possible to do a paper 8710 application and mail it in.
I don't see it in IACRA either. I guess it's time to do an 8710 and get that going.

What I've found so far.

As with others, I completed the 107 online course (the test even had a question about the airspace where I fly for a living: 41/13 Savannah!). Went to IACRA after and couldn't find anything either.

Chapter 6 of AC-107-2 outlines the application processes. Of note, at the top of 6-2, the AC states that "Remote Pilot" will be listed under "Certifications" in the IACRA application. It is not (yet).

AC-107-2 published 21 June here:
http://www.faa.gov/uas/media/ac_107-2_afs-1_signed.pdf

The AC also states that in lieu of the online IACRA application, an applicant can fill out a hard-copy FAA Form 8710-13,
"Remote Pilot Certificate and/or Rating Application". Have not found that form yet, either.
The 8710-1 has nothing pertaining to "Remote Pilots" that I could find.

So, we hurry up and wait, but I did notice at the top of the below link, the ALERT states that, "The instructions on this webpage will be effective in August 2016". More waiting, no worries.

Becoming a Pilot

Guess we'll just have to wait on IACRA to be updated and the 8710-13 to be published.
Advise if you know otherwise.

60M

Last edited: