Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Industrial inspections Zoom lens for X5S help?

Reaction score
Hello my company has given me the task to find a drone that operates with a zoom lens that can fly from a safe distance while still being capable to take excellent still photos on job sites. My research has lead me to Inspire 2 with the X5S and we are prepared and acknowledge this will be a hefty price. So since I have no experience with the camera/lens from Inspire I'm reaching out to any of you who can help. I like that there is a lot of lens offered for the X5S But I would appreciate any feed back that can help me determine the best camera (not the drone) that would help me get my job done with the best quality photos... and...please dont say the z30.

My only experience is with the Phantom 4 Pro. and the fixed lens is not working for me and I feel like I have to fly the drone to unsafe distance to get a high res photo for example say a shingle or broken vents on a rooftop.

Reactions: Advexure
I have the I2 with the X5S. I have tried a Panasonic 14-42 zoom and I am not impressed with the lens. It focuses poorly, and often the camera doesn't 'see' it. I have to land the AC and restart it, then it 'sees' it again.
I can tell you from experience that the Olympus 25mm and 45 mm are excellent on it and those are your best bet. I previously had an Inspire 1 with the X5 and had all of those lenses and they all worked flawlessly on it. X5S is essentially the same camera.

The X5S is basically a 20mp of the X5 - we upgraded form the I1 Pro the the X5 to the I2 with X5s for the increase in resolution - both are good with 12mm, 17mm and 45mm Olympus lenses, and the 45 will allow for good inspection at a reasonable distance - using the 14-42 Olympus zoom lens didn't give a very good quality and we were unimpressed.

What are you trying to achieve ?

Reactions: Advexure