Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Inspire 1 CAN-BUS upgrade, DJI Focus

Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Hi folks,

There's definitely info on this throughout the forum, but I didn't find the exact info I'm looking for, so here we are...

I have an Inspire 1 with X5R. Long story short, the USB connection to phone wasn't working, so I pulled the USB module off an unused controller we had lying around. Didn't really pay attention at the time, but it was likely from a Phantom 3, although it could have been the second Inspire 1 controller (the Inspire 1 I'm using sat idle in our office for a few years before being given to me when I left). The module to which I changed has only micro and USB-A ports, and since I now have the 45mm Olympus lens, and the DJI Focus, which I use on my big cameras, I'd like to be able to focus pull in the air.

The HDMI output upgrade unit...There was only one released, yes? For both the Phantom 3 and 4? It seems that way. And while there was never official word from DJI, it is confirmed to work with the Inspire 1, so says the forum. However, everyone seems to just mention the HDMI port. Any issues using the CAN-BUS port?

I'd like to use this cable with the Inspire and DJI Focus (not the Handwheel): DJI Focus - Remote Controller CAN-Bus Cable (hell of a time finding this one!

...and this cable to connect to the Osmo: DJI Focus - Osmo Pro/RAW Adaptor Cable (2m) (wish they had the 20cm version...)

AFAIK, this should all work, right? My only real concern is having problems with the CAN-BUS port from the HDMI adaptor, but I suppose if the HDMI port is working well for people, then there's no reason the CAN-BUS port shouldn't too.

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
178
Reaction score
71
Age
51
Well, I am uniquely qualified to answer this as I have all the equipment being discussed.

I have a X5R along with multiple controllers.

I have a DJI Focus unit, the cable that is able to connect it to the controller (yes, VERY hard to find), the OTHER cable that connects it to a Osmo handle (they are different), as well as the ultimate solution, the 5.8Ghz Focus Expansion Module (as far as I can tell I was able to purchase the last retail available one out there a few months back).

Ultimately, the idea is that the Inspire 1 would have three people involved (ok, four people including at least one spotter):

1) Pilot in Charge - I feel there also needs to be a FPS camera mounted to make this truly useful for the pilot

2) Camera Operator - using the second controller to allow for freedom of composition

3) Focus Puller

The big issue with the cabled solution is that it MUST be hooked up to the Master controller.

With the expansion module you link the DJI Focus unit to the Master controller just like any Slave. That gives you the freedom for even a third controller to be used as a secondary Slave (you can have up to 5 Slave controllers connected at once to a single Master), so that the focus puller has their own screen as well.

The workflow of the cabled solution seemed ill-conceived at best.

Oh, I also have the bracket that allows the DJI Focus (or a regular focus wheel) to be mounted to a controller. It is really necessary to get any work done with this setup.

For the Can-Bus cable option to work, I surmised you would really need to get a long cable and make an extension. Honestly, the 4-pin connector used for the Can-Bus is nothing special (simple 4-pin connector used for many computer connections like a CD-ROM drive audio connector), so making one the only thing that is needed is the special connector that goes to the DJI Focus unit.

If you really want it to function properly, try to find an Expansion Module. It really is the most elegant and useful solution.
 
  • Like
Reactions: niki

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,857
Reaction score
5,718
I believe the question was - will a replacement Phantom HDMI module installed onto an Inspire 1 remote pass Can-Bus protocols.
The answer is yes.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
178
Reaction score
71
Age
51
Except for the fact that the usability is drastically reduced... Thus the extended version I gave above, that to make it actually useful you need multiple people.

It is VERY hard to pull focus via the DJI focus while it is on the same controller the pilot uses... Not enough hands to get everything done. At that point the on-screen focus part of the DJI Go app is almost more convenient if it is a one man show.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie Frank

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,857
Reaction score
5,718
The answer to the OP’s original question is still ‘yes’

He was asking for specific information.

His ‘only real concern’ (His words not mine) was will it work regarding Can-Bus communication.

I simply and succinctly answered the question.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
35
Thank you both for your replies!

To 'The Editor,' yes, I was mostly worried about the HDMI port working but there maybe being issues with the can-bus for some unknown reason.
Brian, thanks for the details!

I would like to go all-in as you've said this is the best way to go about things, but I'm a little loathe to make too much more of an investment in the Inspire 1, and something like batteries would be more useful now! I flew an Inspire 2 a couple weeks ago, and it's amazing the stability improvements DJI made over the course of a generation.

I've flown by myself for a few years now, mostly Mavics and Phantoms (I'm in South Korea, and the drone laws here have really only come into their own over the past year or two), and so am used to operating everything on my own. For the shots I do, having the focus puller pull while attached to my controller (I have only the one) should be OK. And getting some more useful life from the Osmo would be great, too. It's pretty useful for a small gimbal that was released...6 years ago?
Thanks again~
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
178
Reaction score
71
Age
51
Thank you both for your replies!

To 'The Editor,' yes, I was mostly worried about the HDMI port working but there maybe being issues with the can-bus for some unknown reason.
Brian, thanks for the details!

I would like to go all-in as you've said this is the best way to go about things, but I'm a little loathe to make too much more of an investment in the Inspire 1, and something like batteries would be more useful now! I flew an Inspire 2 a couple weeks ago, and it's amazing the stability improvements DJI made over the course of a generation.

I've flown by myself for a few years now, mostly Mavics and Phantoms (I'm in South Korea, and the drone laws here have really only come into their own over the past year or two), and so am used to operating everything on my own. For the shots I do, having the focus puller pull while attached to my controller (I have only the one) should be OK. And getting some more useful life from the Osmo would be great, too. It's pretty useful for a small gimbal that was released...6 years ago?
Thanks again~
Actually, you can fine-tune the gains and whatnot to get the Inspire 1 to have the grace of the Inspire 2.

The Inspire 1 is basically is "sport mode" the way they pre-configured it. If you play around with the controller settings you can get it EXACTLY the same as the Inspire 2. Fact of the matter is the sizes of the aircraft and the control systems are similar enough that you can't get too much more "stability" out of it in regards to how much they drift and move around on hover.

Also, I noticed that the Inspire 1 RAW actually uses more angle to the motors relative to center... The previous Inspire 1 V1 spec was 4.5/-4.5 degrees, the RAW I have is actually 5.5/-5.5 and has slightly better stability I have noticed in comparison. I figure they did that to compensate for the heavier payload of the X5R.

I am sure someone on here has posted the settings to get the Inspire 1 to fly as gracefully and with the control of an Inspire 2, so doing a long search on here should prove fruitful.

Also, in regards to batteries, keep a lookout for a post I will be making here shortly... There have been some progress and availability of new battery sources may not be in such dire need much longer...
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
21,418
Messages
205,474
Members
31,195
Latest member
AaliyahSerenity