Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Inspire 2 Cold Weather

Reaction score
I searched for cold temperature operation and found some interesting threads in the Inspire 1 section of people flying down to -30ºC and I'm hopeful the Inspire 2 will operate at even colder temperatures with the heated batteries?

I am a commercial operator and have a client who would like some footage in the Arctic where it could reach -35 to -40ºC. I know the rating of the Inspire 2 is to -20ºC but if I keep the batteries warm do you think operating at these temperatures is possible, granted if I can stand that cold myself! I'm hoping it can stand these temperatures if the Inspire 1 with the single unheated batteries operate at -30.

Welcome to the forum, @r62ewa. Have not had the I2 in temperatures colder than about 40ºF (4ºC) quite yet but have had plenty of experience with prolonged flight with the I1 at temperatures around -25ºC. We were extremely religious about battery warming but found the RC battery to be the biggest issue. Inspire was just fine but the battery drain on the RC made things quite difficult. Would highly recommend either keeping the RC plugged in to a power source or having a spare RC on hand.

With the Inspire 2 I think you'll find better performance with the self-warmed batteries. The SSD is not rated for temperatures of that nature but given that the SSD is sandwiched in between the two batteries that should be able to stay within it's optimal operating temp.

Unfortunately can't provide any first hand extreme cold flying with the I2 quite yet but hopefully these insights help and someone who's quite a bit farther north or higher can provide some firsthand experience. Safe flying!

Last edited:
Reactions: vertrider1