Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Motor Mount Alternative Solution

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I wanted to share my experience with you regarding the Inspire 2 motor mounts.
I first became aware of the potential for failure through this forum. Thanks to the community for the diligence to get the word out.
I originally had an Inspire 1 and then an Inspire 2. Once I heard of the glue connection and looked into the catastrophic failures, however rare they may be, I needed to create some peace of mind for my own expensive aircraft.
Full disclosure, I am a licensed professional structural engineer with a Masters Degree in Engineering.
I use my I2 in my structural engineering company for structural inspections as well as with my other photography/videography company for cinematography, photo and video needs. The last thing I wanted was to find out that my motor mount was spinning on the arm, or worse, completely detached from it!
I broke out my tools and disassembled one of the mounts to take a look. Of course, I confirmed that the connection is strictly adhesive without any mechanical attachment. And I also confirmed that the end of the carbon tube is cut in a scalloped configuration instead of square cut.
I wanted to lock the motor mount on at a low cost and with a positive connection. I saw the other solutions out there and each of them had their own merits. So, I am definitely not taking anything away from anyone trying to find cost-effective solutions founded on sound engineering principles with an easy installation. Kudos to everyone taking the plunge to provide a solution.

I, on the other hand, took a different approach, mainly to preserve the beauty of the Inspire 2, while providing strengthened connections of the mounts...
I first did a quick calculation of the approximate stresses on the mount and determined that my intended solution would be many times stronger than necessary.