Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

No SD Card

Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
3
Location
Tyler, Texas
I don't know if this is a problem yet or not ... I haven't been able to get that far. I noted that my app screen shows "No SD Card" on the left side of the screen. My SD card is present and plugged into the camera as it should be. Actually I used it to load the latest update into the Inspire and the controller. Is this going to be a problem or maybe will it go away after I clear up some of the other issues, such as activation?
 

Mazz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
959
Reaction score
592
Location
NY
i would reformat the SD card
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
3
Location
Tyler, Texas
Good idea. I could have screwed up the formatting when I extracted the update to it. Should I format it with the App? I see there's an option to do this.
 

Mazz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
959
Reaction score
592
Location
NY
I would start formatting in the app. I would assume it would use the best settings for the inspire cam but you know what they say about assumptions. I personally format in my mac.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
1,460
Reaction score
986
Age
39
Location
Melbourne Australia
There's a formatting programming which you will find in the firmware folder that you downloaded. Use that to format the SD.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
51
Reaction score
22
Age
34
Location
Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
I know this is an old thread, just wanted to chip in with my findings.

I was having trouble with the Inspire X3 camera often saying 'No SD Card' when the card was perfectly readable on other devices. As is mentioned above, reformatting the card sometimes worked, but not always. Its worth trying (on a Mac at least) using Disk Utility to 'verify' and 'repair' the card, and then formatting as FAT32. I'm sure there's a similar tool on windows systems. I found some cards showed errors and fixing these solved the issue.

Hopefully the Inspire will now pick up the card, and once its working, then format it using the 'Format SD Card' button, now found in the camera settings pop-out menu of the DJI GO App.

Hope that helps someone.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
355
Reaction score
180
I know this is an old thread, just wanted to chip in with my findings.

I was having trouble with the Inspire X3 camera often saying 'No SD Card' when the card was perfectly readable on other devices. As is mentioned above, reformatting the card sometimes worked, but not always. Its worth trying (on a Mac at least) using Disk Utility to 'verify' and 'repair' the card, and then formatting as FAT32. I'm sure there's a similar tool on windows systems. I found some cards showed errors and fixing these solved the issue.

Hopefully the Inspire will now pick up the card, and once its working, then format it using the 'Format SD Card' button, now found in the camera settings pop-out menu of the DJI GO App.

Hope that helps someone.
When using a mac you should also check that you don't create the annoying .DS_STORE files, there are tools out there which remove them automatically when you eject the drive OR...

to disable the creation of .DS_STORe on external devices open a terminal and enter:

defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true

Remove all .DS_Store files in a directory where it is executed as well as that particular directory’s subdirectories (also in Terminal)

find . -name ‘*.DS_Store’ -type f -delete

Chris
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,611
Messages
191,969
Members
28,982
Latest member
Ericmartin