Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Noise in X5R footage, ISO 100

Reaction score
Hi Gang,

Been processing some X5R footage and we are noticing quite a bit of noise in the blue sky. ISO 100 scopes look good, histogram looks good but alas noise in the sky. Has anyone dealt with a noise issue at ISO 100? We have been film makers and still shooters for 25 years so are pretty comfortable with gear.

Thanks,
J

What video setting do you use? Log footage usually needs slightly "exposing to the right", overexposing to avoid too much noise.

Thanks for the feedback everyone. We were shooting log, the files are exposed perfectly according to the Histogram on the individual DNG's in PS. The histogram has everything just north of center nothing clipped and lots of room left on the shadow end. I have been a professional film maker/still shooter for 25 years so I feel I am exposing the data correctly. Here are a couple of screen grabs, look at the blue sky that is where we are seeing the the noise. Neat cleaned it up great but we shouldn't have to at ISO 100 exposed properly. I will do a test at 200 and report back. Really appreciate the feedback everyone. The first is before Neat the second is after.

Attachments

• NoNeatVideo.png
    NoNeatVideo.png
    5 MB · Views: 110
  • NeatVideo.png
    NeatVideo.png
    4.3 MB · Views: 97
On a bright sunny day like that you shouldn't be seeing noise like that. Have you changed your style settings and set your sharpness & Contrast numbers too high?

My mistake Joe we were shooting to raw. Thanks for pointing that out. We have since checked our footage and the one clip with noise was a bit underexposed. It cleaned up and the rest of our files from that day have no noise. Keep that histogram way to the right, we did a test yesterday where we clipped the highlights by a stop and it processed beautifully, not clipping and lots of color data. Going to shoot a SUP group today we will report back on results.