Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Nvidia shield question. .

Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
Hey guys .
do I need to have an Internet connection to get the maps to work?
My map data is blank..
Id appreciate it if someone gave me a few set up tips and general information about how to get the best out of my shield..
I'd like to use it today ..is the new version of the pilot app good??(10 k downloads as of yesterday ..that's up about 5 k in two weeks)

turbo. .
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,011
Reaction score
5,256
The Nvidia Shield is great - I've had zero problems with it. Running all updated Lollipop.
Assuming you do not have the 4G version, you have to cache the maps before you leave for your fly zone (the same as the iPad) or...... Fire up wifi on the Shield and use you phone as a hotspot in the field, load the maps up and then don't forget to airplane mode both devices before you fly !
I turn brightness full up and disable sRGB preset and use native colour (it boosts the brightness of the screen a little more).
 
  • Like
Reactions: sdjackaerial
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
The Nvidia Shield is great - I've had zero problems with it. Running all updated Lollipop.
Assuming you do not have the 4G version, you have to cache the maps before you leave for your fly zone (the same as the iPad) or...... Fire up wifi on the Shield and use you phone as a hotspot in the field, load the maps up and then don't forget to airplane mode both devices before you fly !
I turn brightness full up and disable sRGB preset and use native colour (it boosts the brightness of the screen a little more).
Thanks editor..
do you mind explaining lollipop? ?
I do have the 4 g model but haven't activated it..
wonder if I can put a sim card from one of my trackers that has data usage and use it??
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,249
Age
53
Location
Fresno California
Can you use your phone as a bluetooth hotspot?
Can I do that for free? Never used blue tooth except for a hands free device and a patriot crawling spider..
Not without giving Verizon 50 bucks a month for mobile hotspot. .
I have an atnt go phone sim I'm trying to get working as we speak. .
turbo. .
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Age
34
Location
Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Can I do that for free? Never used blue tooth except for a hands free device and a patriot crawling spider..
Not without giving Verizon 50 bucks a month for mobile hotspot. .
I have an atnt go phone sim I'm trying to get working as we speak. .
turbo. .

Shame you should be able to use the data you pay for the way you want :/
 
  • Like
Reactions: lrh111
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
83
The Nvidia Shield is great - I've had zero problems with it. Running all updated Lollipop.
Assuming you do not have the 4G version, you have to cache the maps before you leave for your fly zone (the same as the iPad) or...... Fire up wifi on the Shield and use you phone as a hotspot in the field, load the maps up and then don't forget to airplane mode both devices before you fly !
I turn brightness full up and disable sRGB preset and use native colour (it boosts the brightness of the screen a little more).
Same exact workflow here on my Shield. This tablet really rocks.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
178
Age
69
Same exact workflow here on my Shield. This tablet really rocks.
Agree, and it also has native screen recorder, and you can save google maps for offline use instead of cacheing them.

Enjoy life and be nice
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
19,743
Messages
193,007
Members
29,112
Latest member
hdezvilches