Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Pilot Skill Irrelevant? (Disgruntled)

Reaction score
Hey all, I was having a conversation earlier today with a friend about piloting skills. He was going on about how good this pilot he saw at a wedding was, and how he would orbit perfectly around people. I am not too bad myself in piloting and know that orbiting can be tricky.

It was a complete coincidence that a few hours later I find out the new firmware has come out. And I just want to express my worries that, just like airline pilots we might go obsolete some day. It kind of sucks that everything is becoming automated doesn't it?

I mean it kind of puts me down that a complete noob can push a button and come out with better results than an experienced pilot.

Also, if any of the devs are reading this. Why the hell did you slow down the Inspire???? Its one of the main reasons I bought it over other quads. FIX IT PLEASE. Thanks for a wonderful drone otherwise :)

Reactions: james tulloch
My take is the more tools available to assist the better. As long as you have options to use or not use. Also in every industry automation does not and can not replace talent. When automation fails and eventually it always does. A human with real skills needs to be at hand. Being a nube myself, I appreciate having automation, but I practice a lot without it, so when the day comes I can use my skills and not have to rely on automation. But in a pinch having that function by flipping a switch is nothing to scoff at :)