Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Raw video and licenses

Reaction score
ok sorry I am just getting into this higher end stuff...
but I want the best quality out of my equipment when I get it. So it looks like you have to pay another grand for that!? Can I still at least record video and watch a raw format without the licenses?
The inspire 1 pro can shoot and play raw video for free right? Why do we have to pay for it now?!
Raw in still cameras you don't have to pay for right!?
So see I am just not getting this?
If someone could even just point me in the right direction to learn about all this I would appreciate it!
So is there no why to shoot video at the highest level with out the liencses on this new inspire 2?
Thanks!

Can I still at least record video and watch a raw format without the licenses?
No.

The inspire 1 pro can shoot and play raw video for free right? Why do we have to pay for it now?!
Well,... no, the I1 Pro (with X5) can't shoot RAW, only the I1 RAW (with X5R) can.
The X5R can shoot RAW "for free", but it costs more than an X5S + RAW license, so... no, it's not actually "free".

Just a different way of doing things. One same camera with a license to get the high end features, instead of 2 different camera models priced with a similar difference.

The new system may make you feel like you're getting screwed, but it's actually more flexible. You can buy the camera now and do compressed video, then just pay the license later if you want to upgrade. If you wanted to do that with the I1 you'd have to completely replace the camera, and get rid of a 2nd hand X5 which would likely cost you significantly more.

Reactions: The Editor
Hmm ok so the inspire 1 raw x5 camera actually has the license price built in? Is that what you are saying?

So would this be pretty much the same as with high end DSLR cameras when you buy the camera you are actually still paying for the license in one way or another?