Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

This high flyer is a little over the hill...

Reaction score
Hi folks,

Well I'm over 60...but hopefully not too far over the hill to take up a new hobby. I live in North Yorkshire, UK, and have just bought an Inspire 1 (v1.2) and hope to be able to learn to fly it. I say 'hope' simply because I'm already bemused and confused by all the articles/opinions I've read on these amazing flying machines :)

I'm a photo-journalist by trade. However that was MANY years ago. In fact the last camera I used professionally had film in it! The thought of being able to take pics from the air - with one's own kit - has really sparked me up (something only a shock from the mains voltage normally does these days).

I bought the old version of the Inspire simply because it was 'the end of the line' and thus on offer (oh, and in case you didn't know it Yorkshire folk have a reputation for being mean too). Anyway, already I'm finding things that are making me resist getting the thing flying...

Firstly, the flight software they talk about using is: DJI Pilot - which appears to have been superseded by a product called GO. Are the two compatible? I've no idea (but I'm sure someone here will).

Then there's the thought of trying to update the firmware. Frankly I don't feel confident about doing it - given I struggle resetting the clock when summertime comes in. Perhaps I don't have to update the firmware immediately? The instructions are so brief - it's hard to know where to start. Maybe I HAVE bitten off more than I can chew! Time will tell.

Anyway, I'm hoping over the next few weeks to break myself in gently. After all I'm retired - so in no rush. I look forward to some virtual chats with fellow forum members - and who knows might even find someone else in North Yorkshire with an Inspire!