Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Upgrade v1 to v2

Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
207
Reaction score
51
Location
UK (March '17 - CANADA)
Website
www.flysafe.club
Okay grown ups can someone tell me is there a kit to upgrade my poor Inspire v1 to a v2 or even is it worth it?

I'm planning to invest some cash in a few bits as I've cancelled my Boy Racer Mavic drone... Or as some would call it the Drone to ban all drones.... :(
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
9,966
Reaction score
5,240
Okay grown ups can someone tell me is there a kit to upgrade my poor Inspire v1 to a v2 or even is it worth it?

I'm planning to invest some cash in a few bits as I've cancelled my Boy Racer Mavic drone... Or as some would call it the Drone to ban all drones.... :(
No and......no.
No 'Ready to install' kit and No, it really isn't worth it.
The only thing that is probably worth upgrading is the gimbal mount as the V2 has a larger footprint and better suspension (compression) system which mechanically stabilises the camera better than the original V1 narrow mount.
'Uprated' motors are not worth it as the negligible KV increase is not noticable at all in real world use.

Here's one place that does the gimbal mount but they are readily available.
DJI Zenmuse X5 Part 2 - Vibration Absorbing Board for DJI Inspire 1 – Marionville Models
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
207
Reaction score
51
Location
UK (March '17 - CANADA)
Website
www.flysafe.club
No and......no.
No 'Ready to install' kit and No, it really isn't worth it.
The only thing that is probably worth upgrading is the gimbal mount as the V2 has a larger footprint and better suspension (compression) system which mechanically stabilises the camera better than the original V1 narrow mount.
'Uprated' motors are not worth it as the negligible KV I crease is not noticable at all in real world use.
So assuming I get a bargain on a X5 you'd suggest a better Gimbal Mount?
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
9,966
Reaction score
5,240
So assuming I get a bargain on a X5 you'd suggest a better Gimbal Mount?
I'd get the mount anyway (it will improve the X3 vibration/stability) - then it will be ready for an X5 when/if you get one with no more modification needed.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
52
Reaction score
7
Age
39
I have the original I1 cam mount and never a problem with X3 vibration/stability. Don't forget to upgrade to the new v2 propellers and locks. They make changing props a breeze. I think the wider mount is to accommodate the x5.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
3
Age
49
Feel like the x5 camera is too heavy for I1...x3 is the perfect size. That maybe the reason why they come up with I2 with bigger motor and props.


Sent from my iPhone using InspirePilots
 
Joined
May 14, 2016
Messages
551
Reaction score
121
Age
40
Location
NM
Feel like the x5 camera is too heavy for I1...x3 is the perfect size. That maybe the reason why they come up with I2 with bigger motor and props.


Sent from my iPhone using InspirePilots
That's why I upgraded my motors an esc's an you do notice that little bit of motor speed
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,619
Messages
192,003
Members
28,988
Latest member
NBProductions