Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Weak Image Transmission with my 2019 iPad Pro 11”

Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
49
Location
Phoenix
I just bought a brand new iPad Pro 11”, and I’ve been getting Weak Image Transmission message at top of the DJI Go app when using it. I can’t see or only about 1/3 of the image feed comes across, if at all. This is the latest and greatest A13 Bionic processor chip. Could it be the cable? When I use my iPhone 8 Plus instead—-Flawless. I don’t understand why it’s not working with my new iPad Pro. Help!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
12
Age
32
It happned with an iPad 6th generation for me. On different mobile device signal is steady. Same cable so i have no idea.
I just bought a brand new iPad Pro 11”, and I’ve been getting Weak Image Transmission message at top of the DJI Go app when using it. I can’t see or only about 1/3 of the image feed comes across, if at all. This is the latest and greatest A13 Bionic processor chip. Could it be the cable? When I use my iPhone 8 Plus instead—-Flawless. I don’t understand why it’s not working with my new iPad Pro. Help!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dark Raptor
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,023
Reaction score
377
Age
56
I get the same symptoms with my Gen 3 iPad Pro. My Gen 2 Pro and Air 1, no problems. The Gen 3 works with my other birds, so I just use the Gen 2 with the Inspire 1.

D
 
  • Like
Reactions: oldcomputech
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
49
Location
Phoenix
Is the 6th generation the latest one out now? If so, that’s disappointing. I bought this iPad strictly for use with my Inspire 1.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
12
Age
32
Yea..200 bucks on Huawei cheap tablet gives better result. I will use iPad for my spare Rc 2nd pilot....
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
12
Age
32
Just any late Huawei..iPad doest give me best result and often signal loss. Lol Sorry for late reply.
Huawei Mediapad T5 tablet 10.5" gives wich costs me 156 euro. Gives better results than an iPad that is more than 800€. I do own multiple iPads...and yet Huawei is better if you are on a budget or dont need Crystalsky.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,023
Reaction score
377
Age
56
Just any late Huawei..iPad doest give me best result and often signal loss. Lol Sorry for late reply.
Huawei Mediapad T5 tablet 10.5" gives wich costs me 156 euro. Gives better results than an iPad that is more than 800€. I do own multiple iPads...and yet Huawei is better if you are on a budget or dont need Crystalsky.
Which iPads do you have? My oldest one - the Air 1 - does great...no problems. Rock solid signal. Anything pre-Thunderbolt is probably too old for live video feed.

D
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Age
58
The latest pads are probably 'too much tech' for the before p4 app. I use an old nexus 7 (2nd generation) and it's been rock solid. I use it as a dedicated pad. It's stripped of every app and left on airplane mode. It doesn't have cellular and I cache my maps on WiFi before I fly. I've been using it for a long time and have never had a single glitch. Apart from an update reminder off DJI mid flight once (never happened again!) They are very cheap to buy and saves you taking a nice pad into the field.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
9
Age
62
Thank you.
Dark Raptor
I'm using an Air 2 with cell. Only problem is the Arz heat. I was out flying in Sept and 10 minutes into the flight my screen started going green. The drone was about 1800 ft away. All so watch some of Donnie Franks video about signal quality. I rolled back my Inspire1 firmware and have not had any problems.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,023
Reaction score
377
Age
56
The latest pads are probably 'too much tech' for the before p4 app. I use an old nexus 7 (2nd generation) and it's been rock solid. I use it as a dedicated pad. It's stripped of every app and left on airplane mode. It doesn't have cellular...
Worth mentioning - I do the same thing. All 3 of my iPads are for work only. That said, I also own a sound company, so these iPads are also used for mixing sound. Outside of those two duties, I've stripped them of all that other crap...no email, facetime, messages, reminders, surfing the web...no Siri....yada, yada. You get the point. All that stuff has been stripped and/or disabled. Permissions have been locked down as tightly as possible, which includes ZERO automatic updates.



...and I cache my maps on WiFi before I fly.
Yep...and depending on the mission, I'll also cache SRTM data. I don't specifically turn off my WiFi, but that action is moot since I'm always outside of WiFi range anyway.



I've been using it for a long time and have never had a single glitch. Apart from an update reminder off DJI mid flight once (never happened again!)
I get "Firmware Update Required" messages every time I open the app. I just click "Ignore" and then the "X." I guess that's the price for running legacy firmware. NOT a problem at all.

1575571718364.png


They are very cheap to buy and saves you taking a nice pad into the field.
I have found the iPads to be robust, but in all honesty, I DO take pretty good care of them. After all, my livelihood depends on them.

D
 
  • Like
Reactions: phxbird57

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,851
Messages
193,720
Members
29,218
Latest member
Pilot-DSD