Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Why Handwritten Flight Logs?

Reaction score
I have heard in many conversations the importance of keeping an actual handwritten flight log. I assume this is failsafe rather than depending on the DJI GO App Logs to stay around forever. I understand that completely, but why handwritten instead of using one of the many app out there or simply keeping in a digital file of some sorts?

What makes the handwritten logs the highly suggested method for logging your flights?

Thanks for your help.

Last edited:
I'm not an expert, but I make handwritten notes about each flight to avoid taking attention from the aircraft and the Pilot / Go app. I have my camp table set up, with my checklists and flight plan printed out in a small 3-ring binder, and a pen ready. Before taking off, I note environmental data about the area (wind, power lines, highest obstacle for RTH failsafe height), note key items of interest in the area to film, etc. While flying, I can make quick notes about MOD values or other data, visibility problems or other control issues (e.g. bugs in my face, make a note to put on bug repellent!), suggestions to myself regarding better procedures or updates to my documents, etc., all real-time rather than trying to remember it later. When I get home, I take some time to review the handwritten notes, update my documents, etc.

Taking handwritten notes for later interpretation and review is quick and easy, and doesn't have me jumping between apps, messing with a touch-screen keyboard, etc. It does require some preparation and a writing surface, but I've got my methods down pretty well. Works for me, but as I said, I'm no expert.

mTp

Monroe, thanks for your response. I think handwritten logs seem more legit, I don't know why, they could be faked as easy as digital ones, but it seems less likely.

Do you think it is best to have a separate log book for each aircraft?