Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

UK Would I be wasting my money with a PfCO in the UK?

BCF

Reaction score
Here's my problem. I've been flying quads for some 3 years and a few months ago upgraded from my P3Pro to an Inspire 1 Pro - mainly for the increased dynamic range over the P3 and ability to vary aperture, etc, due to my long term interest in photography.

Having retired from the police after 30 years and being something of a perfectionist with my hobbies, together with the possible future registration/regulation of UAVs and pilots, I'm about to pull the trigger on the 3 day course giving me a basic 'qualification' in flying UAVs. But for a bit extra cash I could extend my training and incorporate an Ops Manual/OSC and hopefully get a PfCO to enable me to do some commercial work on my own and in my own time (e.g. weddings - which I have done many with a stills camera, real estate, etc).

Now here's the conundrum - several members on this forum have reported that the CAA do not like giving a PfCO to pilots who operate quads, like me. Others say to the contrary. So, should I stick with the cheaper basic qualification and carry on as a hobbyist or spend some more cash (training, insurance) and a lot of time and effort to produce an Ops Manual/OSC for which, in the end, the CAA may well say "Sorry but no built in redundancy with your Inspire 1Pro so no!."

I'd be very grateful to hear from UK members who have personal experience re this matter.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Whilst the CAA might not like quads due to no motor/propeller redundancy there is no problem getting PfCO using them (subject to the appropriate safety procedures in your Ops manual, many of which are common sense). There are plenty of people/companies using Phantom's and Inspires (myself included) with PfCO.

However, I believe that getting on OSC is extremely unlikely unless you have at least six motors props.