Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

X7 60fps modes

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X7' started by visionaryaerials, Jun 18, 2018.

  1. visionaryaerials

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I love the X7 but it doesnt have a 4k or 5.2k prores 60fps frame rate selection as far as I am aware. Anyone know why? Id love to have this capability and looking at the data rates for the X7, this should be possible right?

    2.7k is the best quality you can get prores @ 60fps and its got a narrow FOV....
    2.7K: 2704×1520, 47.95/50/59.94p, 10-bit, HQ, narrow FOV

    see attached X7 data rate sheet from the user manual.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DamesNY

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    54
    Why not shoot 60fps, 4k raw, narrow ? Media encoder can encode it easily. Not perfect workflow I know, but great quality.
     
  3. visionaryaerials

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thats an option but Id prefer ProRes wide at 60fps. Why might this not be an option?
     
  4. Kornbert

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    7
    Same problem here. I was accustomed to the 4k at 60fps with the X5s which is a really good choice. The X7 offers 3712 x 2088 at 14.5x8.2 cm sencor size. That´s the reason why it looks not really good .
     
  5. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    AFAIK, this is a transcoding issue for Cinecore2.1, not a data rate issue. ProRes requires transcoding in Cinecore 2.1 whereas CinemaDNG does not. If you want 4K60, shoot in RAW, as it requires no transcoding, hence the huge file sizes.
    Same issue on the X5S. If ProResRAW is soon available on the X7 with the long-awaited FW update I wonder if 4K60 will become available (my personal opinion is that it won't).