Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

DJI v Blackmagic - ie ProRes license

Nothing is overpriced if people are paying money for it. DJI has us over a barrel due to lack of competition, so they can get away with charging us for a license to use “free” codecs.

If you need ProRes to get work or complete a job the expense is worth it. If you can build or buy a heavy lift rig that can fly a stabilized BMPCC and match the Inspire’s capabilities then by all means do that and avoid paying the DJI tax. (And please tell me all about it because I want that too!)

Reactions: slim.slamma
Hawaii Aerial, I'm very interested in hearing someone explain this. I've been asking the same question for several years. I equate it to greed on the part of DJI or Apple, but I'll appreciate learning something different. Also, the ProRes license is linked to a specific aircraft serial number and can't move to a backup should the need arise on location. It can be moved by DJI but it would never happen while doing a Client's work.

How come Blackmagic Design can sell their cameras WITH a ProRes license and DJI charge an exorbitant fee.

How come Blackmagic Design can sell their cameras WITH a ProRes license and DJI charge an exorbitant fee.
Although I wouldn’t class DJI in the same league as some professional areas - Commercial/Professional manufacturers have always done this.

As an example Sony charges for codec upgrades/enhancements regularly on its pro cameras (The FS5 got an Mpeg2 HD 422 update at $500), The X70 got a chargeable firmware upgrade adding certain codecs and 4K.
Panasonic have done it with hardware boards containing ROM based codecs including AVCHD from a few years ago.
The ProRes license is cheap - Sony introduced their HFR license firmware upgrade for the Venice and it costs $6,000. That’s no big deal in the cinematography arena.

Its just the way it is in the professional industry.