Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Encounter with a National Park Ranger,,,or the stupid B4 UFly app.

Reaction score
Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is along the western coast of Michigan, high up in the northwest part of the state. It has a guard post for entry fees and is an 8-10 mile loop. Since this is a designated national park I know as a FAA UAS pilot I cannot go into the park and fly.
Surrounding the park, but on country roads, used by everyone are old farmhouses that are part of the Port Oneida Historic District. They resemble abandoned farm houses, and are about 10 miles from the national park. Big old fields with farmhouses. I've been doing aerial photography in this area for about 5 months. Last night a park ranger drove up to my car and said that drone photography wasn't allowed, that the national parks had justification over the area, many many acres from the park.

I said I was surprised since I wasn't in the national park proper, and had not received a warning on my B4UFly app, that was released by the FAA. I knew that the interior of the park, 10 miles away was off limits. He gave me a warning and let me go.

So I decided to revisit the app. I had reviewed it many times before and would never fly in a national park. But this was different. Not only was Sleeping Bear not on the list of National Parks list on the app,there weren't any NFZ's surrounding the area. Go to Grand Canyon or any other other National Park and it shows the NFZ for drones.

Okay, I assume this is some type of oversight, but this is a park that is well visited ( although not the old farm houses). And of course, the ranger didn't care about the app being wrong he was just there to enforce the national park rules. If I would've gotten a citation I would've fought it.

Downstroke, if the FAA is serious about drones, airspace etc they need to stay on top of their game. But I don't think they are serious.

Reactions: Donnie Frank