Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Starting Out

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to this forum and the industry in general and had a couple questions was looking for opinions on.
I am in the GIS industry by trade and was looking to get into UAVs as a way of creating maps of course. I was looking to do it in the agriculture and surveying industry eventually.
My main focus right now is figuring out what platform is best to get started.
I have already taken training courses for UAVs and am a part 107 certified pilot.
I have done alot of research on the forum about the inspire and phantom line and have a good idea about the different cameras etc. However most of these are from 2015, 2016 and know how fast the tech industry can move.
My main question is its August 2017, is the Inspire 1 v2 still a good platform to get my foot in the door and make upgrades and purchase bigger platforms later?
Or is the Phantom 4 Pro platform better from the camera for deliverables to start and then move up in platform upgrades.
The inspire 2 is a bit out of my range at the moment but will consider it once I get further into my experience and uses.
Thanks in advance for the help and advice.