X5s 15mm sharpness?

It does look a bit soft. Here is a jpg from one of my last properties for comparison shot with the 15mm.

Attachments

• DJI_0069.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 86
Reactions: roblevine
I have the same observation. I've been applying the following sharpening to my 1.7/15mm DNGs in Lightroom: amount = 100, r = 1.5, detail = 50. The result appears acceptable, without too much over-sharpening artifacts.

Also had to constantly remind myself to adjust expectations of what comes out of a MFT system.

I'm gonna. Also gonna look back at some older pictures. Seems like they always need a little sharpening. Part of the problem might be that I am a professional photographer and am used to super sharp pix coming from my Nikons.

I would not even dare compare my Sony to my x5s. There would be no comparison.

Have you fixed this issue? It looks like something similar when you turn your sensor way down. (iso100) I have seen this on a couple of nikon DSLR's. I found the native (sweet spot) that the sensor has and the soft effect went away. It did it on my x5s as well. I usually keep it in the 400-800. This may be something totally different, but maybe another step.

Regards,

Mark

Wow thanks for that - I don't remember having an issue like this with my Nikons. So 400-800 best huh? Someone above said 200, which is what I've been using...

thanks, its kind of like turning it wayyy up and getting a ton of noise. (hot spots) If you have to bring it down due to overall brightness in the scene, start with a circular polarizer which reduces a lot of bounced ambient and makes things really pop! other than that if it is really bright (snow in sun or similar, put a ND filter on it. **note- don't stack filters as they may end up in your frame of view vignetting the image.

Regards,

Mark.

Yeah - if I can avoid it I don't use ND filters. For stills, no problem. You're paying a lot for that lens - why put something in front of it