Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

DJI Pilot for iPad using old maps

Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Attached is a message I sent to DJI complaining that they are using outdated maps on the iPads.
Needless to say they never got back to me with an answer.

I have the DJI Ground Station App that uses the same outdated maps.
I also have an Android tablet, but that uses Google Maps.

I'm not sure what maps DJI Pilot for iPad uses, but it is not Google and not Apple Maps by TomTom.
Does anyone have an idea how to update the maps?

Thanks
 

Attachments

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,008
Reaction score
5,256
Attached is a message I sent to DJI complaining that they are using outdated maps on the iPads.
Needless to say they never got back to me with an answer.

I have the DJI Ground Station App that uses the same outdated maps.
I also have an Android tablet, but that uses Google Maps.

I'm not sure what maps DJI Pilot for iPad uses, but it is not Google and not Apple Maps by TomTom.
Does anyone have an idea how to update the maps?

Thanks
Its not a DJI issue its an Apple issue so you will not get any joy from DJI.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kilrah
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
1,235
Reaction score
124
Location
Twyford, UK
That's odd that the Pilot app would have different maps to the Apple maps app on the iPad. I wonder why. I always assumed that Pilot just used the built in Apple maps.

Maybe Apple only allow the latest map info in the official maps app or something?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Its not a DJI issue its an Apple issue so you will not get any joy from DJI.
I am not sure of that... the pilot and GS app has to point to a specific map, not just what the iPad tells it to. The question is what map is that and how can I get the DJI apps to point to the Apple or Google maps
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
The app uses the iOS map API, so basically it just tells it "display a map of that location". Everything beyond that is handled by the system.
Here the DJI app and Apple maps show exactly the same, hugely outdated views. And what was loaded in Apple maps first shows up instantly in the DJI app without having to load, confirming both use the same set/cache.
Note that the choice of satellite/hybrid/standard may sometimes show different things for the same places... those are separate sets and also cache separately.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
111
Reaction score
30
Age
30
I have spoken to DJI and they are thinking about a option to choose Google Map on the iOS. Time will tell. :)

Don't care too much now that Apple have updated the maps in my area.. Few months ago all was black \ white. :(
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
445
Reaction score
227
Age
47
Location
Pennsylvania
Apple had a falling out with Google a few years ago if anyone who cares or could remember. Apple no longer uses Google Earth. In fact I believe they tried their own route, and ventured in with Bing or possibly their own. Either way maps are not "updated" on a daily basis.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Age
44
so still have the same problem here. ios maps are too old. any suugestions?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
1,262
Reaction score
594
Location
Buckie, Scotland, UK
Website
www.moraysky.co.uk
so still have the same problem here. ios maps are too old. any suugestions?
We are stuck with the available Apple Maps. Neither they nor Google Maps are regularly updated and some coverage can be years out of date. I fly regularly over the mouth of the River Spey in Scotland which 'moves' due to coastal drift and map is up to 300m out on the current position of the mouth. Similarly, new housing developments may not be picked for years to come. The maps are just a guide and should be treated as such. The trick is to maintain visual line of sight with your I1 at all times.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: The Editor
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
I agree that we need to maintain LOS when flying, but I still think that we should be given the choice to use Google Maps on iOS devices....it is still far superior to the Apple Maps or whatever DJI Pilot is accessing and I can't believe it is that difficult for DJI to do.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
19,735
Messages
192,925
Members
29,103
Latest member
travman422