Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Hand held radio interference. A real issue!

Reaction score
Website
www.worldmediafilm.com
I was filming a Red Stripe commercial in Jamaica last week (I'm a full time producer and director that uses the inspire as an amazing additional tool) with a reasonably sized film crew. As is normal I had equipped the film crew with hand held radios so that we can communicate on set and at locations.

Part of the commercial uses aerial scenes which we nailed with the use of the Inspire, I fly it with the help of a camera operator.
The scene were complex and required timing so we also had an assistant calling cues out to the talent on the radio.
We would set up shots, framing, exposure position and once set I would roll the camera on the inspire and call action.
The Inspire kept switching the record off. I would stop reset record to roll the camera call action and watch as the record button stopped record.
This happened for a day or so and I was getting pretty annoyed, then the assistant noticed it changed as he called action over the radio. A quick test confirmed that the radio was indeed causing this issue.

We moved the assistant about 15 feet away and all seems to be fine. So be aware that radios on that share this spectrum not only can interfere but DO interfere with the controller.

No doubt they could influence other attributes. so Always do a filed test.

The Inspire got us some shots that we just could not have got with a normal helicopter and worked flawlessly on set. Despite two previous flyaway crashes ( switching into atti mode close to an object before pilot could act).
Happy filming.

Reactions: lrwskyfilms