Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Hello from Texas and Los Angeles; Time to Inspire me.

Reaction score
Hi all. My name is Glen and I'm new to this whole world of flying. I WANT TO ASK SOME QUESTIONS AND LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR ADVICE. IS THIS THE BEST PLACE TO ASK?

I have worked in the film industry for over 20 years and I have always wanted a flying camera. In addition to working, I also teach at a college and I thought I might utilize the tool for class.

I keep jumping back and forth between a new purchase. On one hand, I understand why the Inspire 1 v2 is a more professional tool than a Phantom 4. On the other hand, I can clearly see how the additional safety features found on the Phantom 4 would be of great benefit.

Of course, when I seriously begin looking into purchasing one of these tools, I come during a price drop and sale. With the Inspire 1v2 and the Phantom 4 being within $600 of one another, it seems to come down to "a true 360 camera with clear line of sight" with the Inspire vs "a more restricted camera flying with sensors that will keep the unit from crashing into a tree or wall" with the Phantom 4.

And then, I read that this price drop probably means the Inspire 2 (Or 1v3) will probably be released at the next Drone show in September??!!

Oh, what to do!?? :D (I'm not really quite sure if there is even the possibility of updating an Inspire 1v2 to the specs of an Inspire 2, should the 2 come with the collision avoidance sensors of the Phantom?

And then, to top it all off, I mentioned I teach. That means I can also acquire either with an additional educational discount... but only if I order directly from DJI -- Which I read on this site is a major, major, major mistake. Why?

So many questions for a newbee. But, I am happy to be here and I hope soon to be up in the air!

--Glen