Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Inspire 2 Zenmuse X5s - Camera Sensor error

Reaction score
Hello all, I've been flying a Phantom 4 standard since they 1st came out, the goal at that time was to get experience to one day buy the inspire, well, that time came early this year when I bought the inspire 2 and the Zenmuse X5S....I'm currently studying for my part 107 licence and so far I've only taken the Inspire out 3 or 4 time for short flights, mostly getting used to the camera settings and features of this awesome drone. One of the things i noticed right off was that while the Phantom 4 turns like a sports car, the inspire turns like a freight liner semi truck.
Recently we sold our home and I thought what a great opportunity to do some real estate type photo's and video's.
I get the drone and camera all set up, i take a few shots and videos from the street at about 40 feet up (the area I'm in has a 100 foot ceiling)...
So what are the odds???,
I then decide to come in for a closer view of the front of the house by following the walk way, I brought drone down to about 3 feet off the ground, there's some bushes and trees in the yard so I'm being extra careful and slow...oh so very slow...really really... slow, and the drone is in tripod mode, I'm thinking this is great practice flying, and I'm concentrating so much on the Drone that I pull a rookie move and don't activate the camera...so now, as I get nearer to the house...well lets just say....all hell broke loose...a sparrow bolts out of a near by bush towards the drone, in the blink of an eye the sparrow collides with the inspire and all i see is a cloud of feathers and the drone spinning backward and bounces onto the lawn with a thump...thankfully the drone was still in a landing gear down mode and was over the grass, it landed (bounced) with no visible damage other than 1 broken propeller and needing to be cleaned up, but sadly, the little sparrow was not so fortunate.