Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

UK OSC

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been operating for a few months and had to turn down a few jobs due to the proximity to roads.

I have started to look at submitting an OSC for reduced distance permissions.

Can you submit a general case or do you have to submit one for each specific flight?

Also I have seen that the ANO has been updated but cap 722 is still the same. Any one heard if there are any changes to the standard permissions likely?

Cheers

Hi Mike,

I think you probably can obtain a standing safety case as I've seen an operator promoting this (but can't remember which one) though I think this was just for London. So not really much help, sorry.

BUT, I don't if you're aware that the CAA issued clarification on the 50m rule a few months back which may be of help pending your OSC. You can read it here:

http://www.uavacademy.co.uk/caa-clarifies-50m-rule/

Regarding SUSA it basically confirms that 50m can be considered in three dimensions, as a bubble not a radius. So theoretically if the drone is above 50m AGL the ground radius becomes 0m in terms of person, vessel, vehicle, structure (depends on height of structure I guess) not under your control. However all other restrictions within your PFAW will still apply, so no flying directly overhead any of these and nothing that could endanger people or property, etc. Although visually stunning I can't believe some of the footage we see on this forum (particularly from the USA) where flights are clearly being made over towns, cities, highways, etc. - sorry I digress!