Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Terrible horizon drift - even with balanced camera and lens and starting up on flat ground.

Does your horizon drift?

• Total voters
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a UK based operator who flies a number of aircraft.

I'm having real trouble with a stubborn Inspire Pro and X5 camera. I use the 12mm, 15mm and 25mm lenses.

I have a good compass calibration, good IMU calibration and always take off with a perfectly balanced camera and lens after intiliasing on a flat surface.

Despite this, I always get a horizon drift - when I fly past an object and my cameraman on the second remote pans with the object, the horizon leaves horizontal and ends up quite badly slanted. This is a very frustrating problem and I can't figure out what else to do to help with this.

Does anyone have any advice or experience?

Gimbal well calibrated too?

That's a problem to some extent with pretty much all 3-axis gimbals currently on the market.

Reactions: The Editor
Hi everyone,

I'm a UK based operator who flies a number of aircraft.

I'm having real trouble with a stubborn Inspire Pro and X5 camera. I use the 12mm, 15mm and 25mm lenses.

I have a good compass calibration, good IMU calibration and always take off with a perfectly balanced camera and lens after intiliasing on a flat surface.

Despite this, I always get a horizon drift - when I fly past an object and my cameraman on the second remote pans with the object, the horizon leaves horizontal and ends up quite badly slanted. This is a very frustrating problem and I can't figure out what else to do to help with this.

Does anyone have any advice or experience?
I have explained this previously on the forum (if you use the search function you will find many references to the subject) but I will re-post my explanation from that thread.

"This is normal and I will try and explain why.