Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

IMU calibration

Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
676
Reaction score
326
Age
72
Location
Chaska, MN
Caught this on facebook. I'll certainly remember to do this before the first flight and after software updates.
Remember to do this on a perfectly level surface. But yeah, first thing after firmware update, then compass calibration at the field.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2014
Messages
183
Reaction score
45
Age
56
I'm wondering if this has anything to do with some of the erratic behavior we've heard about.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
83
Reaction score
7
Age
70
So much for fly right out of the box dig is going to have allot problems I now wish I would have waited got mine today can't even get the app


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
68
Reaction score
9
Location
New Jersey
Great tip! Just got done the firmware upgrade, had to try a few times but it's done. Didn't even see the IMU calibration. After needing it a lot on my phantom 1 I should have immediately looked for this.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
44
Age
41
I tried calibeating my imu but after I do it and it completes 100% I press check and it still says it needs calibration ? On my phantom when I re check it says none needed any ideas ?

Edit I had to do it a few times after the last time it shows no calibration needed. I would not trust its done correctly the first time without pressing check imu button. To make sure. The video does not shoe this but I'd def do it. Note I did check to see if it needed calibration before hitting calibrate the first time and it did. So any one with a new inspire I would def check there's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
434
Reaction score
253
All you have to do is scan the QR code in your iOS device. It will request your S/N and then load the App. No need to go to outside links.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
83
Reaction score
7
Age
70
I have scaned serial # wrong


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
68
Reaction score
9
Location
New Jersey
So I went to check on the calibration, went through above steps and clicked " check calibration" and a "calibration required" message popped up. Of course I did advanced calibration after, but maybe it's a real good thing I found this post as I haven't flown yet and this possibly saved from at minimum an erratic, not to smooth first flight. Thanks again Adam for this forum!
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
83
Reaction score
7
Age
70
Does anybody know pluged cable in from tx to my iPad opened flight sim says can't work when disconected from aircraft


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
434
Reaction score
253
Does anybody know pluged cable in from tx to my iPad opened flight sim says can't work when disconected from aircraft


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
You have to be connected to use the sim.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
83
Reaction score
7
Age
70
Do you mean the aircraft must be on to I was only using iPad to tx


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
44
Age
41
So I just checked my IMU again after a few flights and it says calibration needed again so I did it advanced only goes to 97% then it runs the basic cal on its own and completes . but I don't get it why so often? is this something we are going to have to do every flight now ? confused
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
676
Reaction score
326
Age
72
Location
Chaska, MN
So I just checked my IMU again after a few flights and it says calibration needed again so I did it advanced only goes to 97% then it runs the basic cal on its own and completes . but I don't get it why so often? is this something we are going to have to do every flight now ? confused
No, IMU cal is only required if there is suspicion that the craft needs it, like it's drifting when in attitude mode, but not because of wind or that it's constantly fighting to maintain it's position when in P-GPS and there is no wind. The IMU cal needs to be done on a level surface that does not have any magnetic interference, per Tahoe Ed. If after the cal, it tells you that it needs it again, consider changing location. Temperature seems to be a factor, as the IMU heats up rapidly during calibration. It's best if the craft is in cool temps before starting the cal.
BTW, I calibrate the IMU of every new MR I get shipped to me, because of the possibility that it got bumped around during transport.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
44
Age
41
IMU cal is being done on a completely flat glass top even checked with a level. over a carpeted surface i have tried in other locations flew it today and it flew just fine or it seemed to. i guess I'm just concerned that after a few fights it says it needs cal again. seems to me its smart enough to know when it should or not ? after I redo the calibration it says no cal needed but after a few flights and after sitting for hours and I check it it says cal needed. I guess I'm just begin extra cautious. :)
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
676
Reaction score
326
Age
72
Location
Chaska, MN
IMU cal is being done on a completely flat glass top even checked with a level. over a carpeted surface i have tried in other locations flew it today and it flew just fine or it seemed to. i guess I'm just concerned that after a few fights it says it needs cal again. seems to me its smart enough to know when it should or not ? after I redo the calibration it says no cal needed but after a few flights and after sitting for hours and I check it it says cal needed. I guess I'm just begin extra cautious. :)
Just to confirm, when you say that it needs cal again after a few flights, are you getting a warning before flight, or are you going to "sensors" and selecting "Check IMU." If the latter, you don't need to do that. That is being overly cautious. If it's behaving, then "It's All Good." Compass cal, that you should do every time you change flying location.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
44
Age
41
yes when I manually check it. its says needs Calibration not warnings on the screen before or during flight. I will say after the last time i did it the inspire seems to fly even better. compass i always do in a new location.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,756
Messages
193,079
Members
29,127
Latest member
hhung516