Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Lost Quad. Looking for help narrowing search with Flight Logs.

Reaction score
Hi guys. I am new to the forum. I have been flying RC for 30 years. I have been flying FPV for about 5 years. My main quad is Inspire. About 2 weeks ago I purchased the Mavic Pro Platinum. The portability looked amazing! I had about 20 flights in with it. Yesterday while flying I got multiple strong interference warnings while returning to home. Then my controller disconnected. I have not seen my Mavic since. I used find my drone to find the last transmitted coordinates. My wife and I have spent several hours walking through swamps and cow poop to no avail. After reflecting on the situation and thinking about what I should have done differently, I am stuck with a question that is making tracking down the Mavic very difficult. Toward the end of the flight I received multiple high interference warnings and my controller disconnected. I was descending while this happened. Part of me thinks the Mavic still continued to descend but I was not getting updated telemetry. This would have made me believe I was at a higher elevation than I actually was. I am thinking the Mavic might have descended into a group of trees and crashed. On the other hand I am thinking when the controller disconnected the Mavic kept flying but because of the interference never sent updated coordinates or any other telemetry. Then I am guessing the battery got low and it auto landed.

Despite the high interference, Mavic seemed to be flying the correct course to get back to the home point. Therefore if the interference affected the compass or gps then it happened after it disconnected form the controller.

I have searched around the last transmitted coordinates and walked a lot of the projected flight path. I am thinking about possibly flying Inspire over the last transmitted coordinates and seeing if I can get a different perspective of the area.