Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Matrice 600 Pro with Ronin MX for Nikon D850 or Fuji GFX 50S

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm a wildlife and nature photographer, but new to UAV. I have used a Mavic. I like the perspective from air and have been wondering about getting one myself.

I certainly would like a full-frame DSLR or mirrorless in the air, and have read quite a bit in the past few days about the UAV, gimbal and intelli-G but still very confused.

My understanding is that the best option would be a Matrice 600 Pro with Ronin MX or Gremsy T3 gimbal. If you think there a better drone to put a DSLR in air, please let me know.

I have a Nikon D850 and can use it with either 16-35 f/4 or 24-70 f/2.8 lens. I read somewhere that Nikon has issues with remote control of settings such as aperture, shutter speed and focus point, as HDMI cuts off once USB is activated/used. Is it still a problem? Total weight of camera + lens would be about 1.7 - 2 kg.

Another option (preferable) - Fuji GFX 50S mirrorless + 32-64mm f/4 lens. Can this be used with either of those gimbals? How would be control of the settings be? Total weight of camera + lens would be about 1.7 kg.

I'd be the only operator - of the craft and gimbal/camera. Can I achieve this with a single controller or would I need 2 separate controllers and have to go back and forth? For any meaningful photography I'd need live video feed.

In the mix, I have read about intelli-G and Seagull MAP2, but have no idea on how to make them work with either of those 2 cameras. I have also read that DJI channel expansion kit might be used. Overall, I'm very confused on how to achieve goal of using Nikon DSLR or Fuji mirrorless from air.

I'd really appeciate if someone can let me know the potential setup or point to where I can find more info.

Thanks a lot in advance,

Cheers,
Senthil

Hello All,