Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Workflow question...

Reaction score
My question is for those of you that fly commercially or serious hobbyists. It’s about video storage and what seems to work best for your workflow.

When I was an Avid editor many years ago I would offload tape (yeah I know lol) and store it on the server with the date first and then the location and possibly additional parameters. With everything being digital this seems much easier now! I was thinking of doing the same thing with an pair of 8TB external storage drives. One for storage and one copied nightly as backup.

For instance: 2.15.18.Islamorada.FL.Beach.Footage.mov

This will allow me to search and find Beach, FL, Islamorada, or even the date if I knew when it was...? I also have a separate folder for each of my drones...not sure if that’s really needed?

I’d like to know what you are doing.

Thanks!
Scott

3 x 8tb internal drives. 3 x 8tb external drives for monthly off-site backup. 1 x 8tb drive for daily backup.

Top level folders are the project numbers with a new one being assigned to each new client project. Below that I have a folder for each camera source/file format. i.e. I2MP4 I2DNG I2JPG, etc. This allows me to accommodate identical file names that you can end up with when using several DJI/GoPro/Canon products on the same shoot. I guess this is the same as your system with separate folders for each drone?

I then have a Premiere folder for video edit related files, ‘JPG Selection’ folder for the processed DNG/CR2/RW2 still images and ‘client’ folder for client supplied material.

It works for me but I don’t suppose it will fit many peoples requirements.

Reactions: Way2Fst4U