Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Could I use a Vision+ to hoist a 2.4GHz WiFi extender in the air ??

Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
49
Location
Cleveland, OH
Just wondered if anyone tried attaching a WiFi extender (battery-powered) to a Phantom in order to increase range?

I currently have a Vision+ but thinking about upgrading to the Inspire. One problem I frequently run into is losing signal on a long range flight because of tall trees in the way -- as shown in this diagram:

Concept of signal repeater drone #2.jpg

So I was wondering if it's feasible to mount a small lightweight 2.4GHz WiFi repeater to the Vision+ and have it hover above the treetops so it can relay RF signal between me on the ground and the Inspire way off in the distance (>1 mile) ??

Since I often fly alone, I would simply use GPS mode to have the Vision+ hover about 30 feet above the treetops and then put down that controller and pick up the Inspire controller and take off. Since both the Vision+ and Inspire 1 have similar flight times, I think this could be a workable idea.

This system could be great for certain circumstances --- such as when you need to fly and then descend at a far distance in order to get a closeup shot of something on the ground (ie, wildlife).
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
24
Inspire does not run over wifi. so u could hoist one up with your phantom but its not going to help the inspire.. even if you hoisted a 2nd inspire controller it wouldnt help as it goes to the master unit first.,
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
74
Reaction score
18
Age
102
Man, great idea! Thought about it once but I think don't work the money,
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
49
Location
Cleveland, OH
Thats a great idea but you'll need to have 2 pilots.
I won't need to hold both controllers at once. I would launch the Vision+ in GPS mode and let it hover above the treetops. No input on the sticks is necessary at that point (unless a really windy day). I wouldn't need to touch the Vision+ controller again until I need to land it.

Once the Vision+ is hovering, then I use the Inspire controller to launch and fly off into the distance.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
24
I won't need to hold both controllers at once. I would launch the Vision+ in GPS mode and let it hover above the treetops. No input on the sticks is necessary at that point (unless a really windy day). I wouldn't need to touch the Vision+ controller again until I need to land it.

Once the Vision+ is hovering, then I use the Inspire controller to launch and fly off into the distance.
wifi does not help the Inspire!!!!
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
49
Location
Cleveland, OH
Inspire does not run over wifi. so u could hoist one up with your phantom but its not going to help the inspire.. even if you hoisted a 2nd inspire controller it wouldnt help as it goes to the master unit first.,
Inspire operates on 2.4 GHz, right? That is a WiFi frequency.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
49
Location
Cleveland, OH
well the phantom 2 vison wifi repeter is sorta what you were talking about and that is not going to increase the range of the lightbridge 2.
I wasn't planning on using the Vision's WiFi extender --- I was going to buy an off-the-shelf WiFi extender --- although finding one that runs off a lipo might be difficult.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
24
I wasn't planning on using the Vision's WiFi extender --- I was going to buy an off-the-shelf WiFi extender --- although finding one that runs off a lipo might be difficult.
well since the controll signal goes through LB to the inspire im not sure, i havent seen any that work with the LB 1 ( i own 2 of those as well)
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
The Vision uses WiFi, so you could extend the range of a Vision that way.
The Inspire does not, so that will not work.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
WiFi is a standard defining a whole stack of things like network infrastructure, channels, access and authentication methods, network protocol use, etc...Which frequency it uses is merely a detail. So no, talking of Wi-Fi for anything else than wireless computer networks of that name is wrong use of the term.

You need to connect a repeater to an existing WiFi network, and it will create a new WiFi network named differently you can connect your devices to.
The Inspire uses a proprietary communication system, it does not use anything of the WiFi standards. Visions do.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lrwskyfilms
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
44
Reaction score
10
Age
32
The inspire 1 doesn't use wifi, when you connect to your tablet you don't connect to a wifi network like with the Vision. The signal is coming straight from the antennas in the controller into your device from the cord. Range is pretty good on the inspire btw!
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
isn't it possible that the Inspire, with its greater range and more powerful transmitter, will just work through the trees anyway?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
Very likely yes. I've already been flying behind buildings and was very surprised of the result.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,735
Messages
192,923
Members
29,102
Latest member
bseidersphotog