Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

How to insure no helicopter will every be forced to land because of a drone...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Easy peasy.

Strict speed limit laws (30 knots?) for all aerial vehicles under 400' AGL.

Problem solved.

Discuss.

D

How to insure no helicopter will ever be damaged by a drone ever again...

Strict velocity laws for all aviation flying under 400' AGL. I think 30 knots should be the limit. Wanna fly faster? Climb. We'll call it "Class H Airspace."

Discuss.

D

Last edited:
I'm a little pro manned aircraft even though I love my drones. Mostly because when I am flying an aircraft I am in it if something bad happens and I fall from the sky. Whereas flying my drone, if the drone falls from the sky I am safe by my controller.

30 mph is below the stall speed for any fixed wing aircraft (other than a glider perhaps) so that isn't really a practical thing. Not a possiblity for seaplane operations or the like.

The tips of the main rotor blades on a helicopter are spinning at just under the speed of sound (~350-400 Mph? that's the whop whop you hear from a two bladed helicopter). So 30 knots still equals a main rotor blade strike at ~400 Mph. That is a big impact even with a small drone. So I think that should be avoided.