Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Indoor Flight Best Practice?

Reaction score
I'm just getting started with my I2, but I've been getting some good material so far. The other day someone asked if I'd be able to shoot indoors in a new small shopping mall. I know that the I2 has anti-collision sensors above/below/front, but I was wanting to know what is best practice for doing such a shoot and what mistakes others have made I can learn from. Things such as does the drone go crazy with no/low GPS, what RTH settings, what sensors to turn on/off, how well those sensors function, and other risks which aren't obvious to a new pilot.

Reactions: dioriosigns
From my experience, the I2 is very stable indoors, especially in comparison to the I1 which can move suddenly as the GPS signal is lost/re acquired.

The vision system will keep you stable up to around 10m height providing the floor below the I2 is patterned and well lit.

Remember to turn off automatic RTH! I set mine to hover in place if the signal is lost.

I also turn of the forward collision detection & use my eyes to avoid a collision as the constant beeping as you get close to your subject can get distracting.

You should keep the upward collision sensor on as it can be difficult to judge how close you are to the roof from ground level. If you get too close to the roof then control of your height could become difficult as the I2 gets sucked up into it own vacuum.

Fly slowly & always use an observer to cover your back for the times when you get engrossed in looking at the image & controls on your screen.

Look out for overhead cables & dangling light fittings!

Take a spare pair of pants, it can be nerve racking the first time you try it!

Here’s one I did earlier:

The middle section shows just how stable & controlled the I2 can be indoors:

The Inspire 2 is an incredible aircraft and can very well be used indoor.