Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Inspire 1 v2.0 or P4P

Reaction score
While I did search the forum before duplicating a post and find bit and pieces, nothing specific to my questions. I would appreciate your seasoned input - am also new to DJI.

Not new to drones per se, own a Storm 8 (for sale) and had a Yuneec and got rid of it quickly <g> Also, just finished PPL ground school

I may already know the answer, maybe I need two units but realistically I don't want to spend more than 4k for this round.

As a photographer, I want to leverage for stills
> P4P = 1-inch sensor, 20MP (DNG, DNG+JPG)
> Inspire1 = 1.2/3 sensor, 12.4MP (though DNG is Adobe RAW which is a plus)

It's all about Sensor or RAW, pixels are more of a sales topic

So would have to score it for the P4P, larger sensor equals better dynamic range

------

Also, as a video DP, I want to use for a film and corporate projects
> P4P support H.265, H.264
> I1 H.264

> P4P = 2 degrees of freedom gimbal
> I1 = 3 degrees of freedom
In certain shots, say 30 degrees of pitch, I would imagine seeing the P4P props versus the I1 which pivot up

I1 does have a wider FOF view 90 verses 84 degrees.

So would score video somewhat mixed, H.265 is overall a better CODEC
I1 has more flexibility with gimbal freedom and wider FOV
I1 also should be more stable in stronger winds aloft conditions from what I have read

> Then there are the remote & dual controller options for the I1
> Like it or not, clients may look down on the PP4 as it looks like their kids unit
> Future lens upgrades with I1
> Ability to add FLIR thermal camera in the future

> Given the dual controller feature on the I1, how safe, controllable and accurate is flying as a single pilot and op, say using Litchi or similar?