Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

"Official" initiation into the UAV community?

Reaction score
I was out this past Saturday getting some aerial footage for a friend who's actively involved, and quite accomplished himself in, triathlon events. I'm very new to both videography and UAV piloting (though I've had several RC planes in years past,) and tend to err well on the side of caution. When you couple that with crowds lining both sides of the narrow park road, the pace of the racers, ubiquitous trees and powerlines, i was pretty clanked and needless to say my video fell woefully short of anything that can be called "dynamic."

So yesterday I find an old dead end country road with trees on one side and open field on the other, volunteer my son to be a moving target, er, subject, and set up the aircraft to practice filming moving subjects using course lock and waypoints. After several passes and one dead battery, I thought it would be good to reverse the rolls and allow my son to film my out-of-shape self lumbering down the road.

No sooner than the aircraft got off the ground, there come approaching headlights. Who could this be?
OI%205_zpspgrbggit.png

I'd already been treated to a drive-by from presumably one of the neighbors so it wasn't hard to figure out:
OI%201_zpswp5yafyf.jpg

What's better than being approached by one of Orange County's Finest? Why, being approached by two:
OI%202_zpsrctxtejw.jpg

Apparently the first officer called for some "blackup."
OI%203_zpsfczhsufm.jpg

I shared with the officers exactly what I was doing there and they didn't have a problem with it but of course because the neighbors did, they were obliged to ask me to leave. Seeing the veiled curiosity, I explained that I only had a few minutes of battery left and would they mind if I finished it out. It wasn't a hard sell and basically was walking through the capabilities of the aircraft and how I was trying to get it to do what I wanted.