Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Using return home on Dji Pilot app

Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
I am use to using iosd mini on my Phantom 2. If i wanted to go home i would just follow the arrow direction on my screen. When using Dji Pilot app, where do i see direction of my home?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
1,460
Reaction score
986
Age
39
Location
Melbourne Australia
The map displays a straight line from the home point to the I1. At any given time you can turn her around and follow the line back to the home point.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
The straight line shows by default or do I need to activate it?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
1,460
Reaction score
986
Age
39
Location
Melbourne Australia
In the top right settings cog of the app, there's an option called "Show Flight Route"
I've always had this enabled so I'm not totally sure if it needs to be enabled or not. I'd say the straight line will always be there and the above option will enable a track of exactly where you've flown.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: turbodronepilot
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
Also does the home point automatically sets before I take off?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
1,460
Reaction score
986
Age
39
Location
Melbourne Australia
Home point is set automatically and it'll be verbally said by the app on take off. You'll see a blue circle in the map. Always good to calibrate the compass when flying in a new area and cache the maps then kill the cellular signal on the screening device or kill wifi once cached.

It's a good idea to have a pre flight check list and an after flight check list.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
I don't need Internet connection when using my iPad outside, right?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
1,460
Reaction score
986
Age
39
Location
Melbourne Australia
No but it'll need an internet connection for map caching. You can always cache maps at home if you're not wanting to fiddle around whilst in the feild. But remember to kill wifi or cellular once ready to start up.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
Ok just so I indedst correctly. I have a wifi IPad so no internet outside, so will I be able to fly without internet, will the maps be showing me the drone and the flight line? The only way I can get internet outside is to connect to my cell via Bluetooth
What does it mean map cashing?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
You need to connect to the internet for the map to load either at home and scrolling the map to the location you're going to fly in, or on the spot.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
So if I load the map at home and then go outside and fly, will it work? Or should I just connect the iPad to my cell phone internet via hotspot
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
When you say cached the maps you mean once I use internet at home, then when I go outside I no longer need internet?
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
9,993
Reaction score
5,250
Also, the radar display bottom left shows orientation to home point. Turn so the nose on the display is facing the centre point on the radar and you are facing home.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
4
Age
59
Just did my 1st flight... Which screen shows my track/white line so i know how to get home? I click on the camera icon, that shows me what camera sees, then if i switch to the square at the bottom left, that just shows map
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,706
Messages
192,738
Members
29,082
Latest member
droneair