Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Compass calibration with or without camera

Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
192
Reaction score
51
Age
37
Location
Cypress, Texas
Website
www.facebook.com
So I was wondering do you guys calibrate the compass first before putting the camera on, then shut down, attach camera, then reboot? I just hate every time I'm calibrating with the camera on, that the gimbal hits it's stops and it seems to me that it would put a lot of stress on the motors in the gimbal and perhaps cause level issues with the gimbal??? What are yalls thoughts???
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
With. The camera is a disturbance that needs to be accounted for in the calibration.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jetwash
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
247
Reaction score
60
Location
Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
I was just wondering how often you guys are calibrating your compass? Unless the pilot app says otherwise, compass calibration shouldn't have to be done too often, right?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
676
Reaction score
326
Age
72
Location
Chaska, MN
I was just wondering how often you guys are calibrating your compass? Unless the pilot app says otherwise, compass calibration shouldn't have to be done too often, right?
It's recommended that you should do a calibration every time you change flying location.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
452
Reaction score
92
You should do a calibration every time you fly. Better to be safe than sorry. Only takes a minute.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
293
Reaction score
51
Location
Hollywood
Not ture. There are many posts here and on the DJI Forum site that suggest that constant re-claibration of the compass is un-necessary (unless you have significantly changed location..as in MILES) and that in fact the constant re-calibration can do more harm then good.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
452
Reaction score
92
Never heard that before. Never heard anything about doing more harm than good. Even DJI suggests doing it every flight.
In any case, I'd rather take my chances with a calibration everytime as opposed to possibly having a fly away every time.

Take your pick!
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
247
Reaction score
60
Location
Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
Never heard that before. Never heard anything about doing more harm than good. Even DJI suggests doing it every flight.
In any case, I'd rather take my chances with a calibration everytime as opposed to possibly having a fly away every time.

Take your pick!
Where does DJI say it should be done every time you fly?

I was also under the impression you only need to recalibrate if you've moved significantly in terms of geographical location or if the Pilot app says that the compass needs calibration.

Seems counter intuitive to have the compass status shown in the app if its required/recommended to be calibrated each time you fly.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
460
Reaction score
106
Location
Sweden
When I was about to get a flyaway with my Phantom 2 (second start/same location), I started to calibrate every time I fly / replacing the battery.
Have not had one incident after I started with it.
Think I will continue with this, with INSPIRE 1 too.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
244
Age
41
I calibrate very time I fly. The one time I did not I had major control issues and almost lost it in the water. I had launched from a boat and was having a hard time calibrating so I gave up.

Clint- I admit I have never tried, but how would you calibrate without the camera on? Without the camera connected I get a 'Disconnected' signal on the app. Is it possible to calibrate without the app?
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
9,932
Reaction score
5,223
.............but how would you calibrate without the camera on? Without the camera connected I get a 'Disconnected' signal on the app. Is it possible to calibrate without the app?
Same as the Phantom..... Just toggle the flight control switch quickly 5 or 6 times. Inspire will then go into compass calibration mode with no need for tablet or camera connected.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
192
Reaction score
51
Age
37
Location
Cypress, Texas
Website
www.facebook.com
I calibrate very time I fly. The one time I did not I had major control issues and almost lost it in the water. I had launched from a boat and was having a hard time calibrating so I gave up.

Clint- I admit I have never tried, but how would you calibrate without the camera on? Without the camera connected I get a 'Disconnected' signal on the app. Is it possible to calibrate without the app?
Yes, even though it shows "disconnected" you still have full access to your function and controls of the I1 itself. I just go to the GPS menu, then select compass calibration. I did it last night for a night flight/photo session shoot (thread about that coming soon) without the camera attached at first, then powered down, attached camera and powered back up. All was great and I guess i just felt better about flipping the bird around all over the place during the compass cal. and not worrying about the gimbal smacking all around and hitting it's stops in the process...!
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,501
Messages
191,100
Members
28,851
Latest member
NancyAnderson