Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

DJI out of sync with FAA

Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
126
Reaction score
57
Location
Montana
Website
www.altilux.com
I am clueless as to why DJI continues to force FAA certified pilots to live under their Geo-Fencing code. We know where to fly legally. Last week I had a commercial project that was fully authorized by the ATC, and was in a 400' AGL LAANC area near a Class D airport. DJI's Fly Safe showed my area as a 'altitude' zone on an approach path (not ILS, since it was a SECONDARY landing strip). I was unable to leave the ground with my my Inspire 2. The crazy online authorization simply was not working as I had hoped. So I pulled out my Air 2S and it took off without hassle, BUT would not go above 195' AGL because of the 'altitude' zone. WHAT?!?!? I had FAA ATC formal authorization to fly up to 400' AGL. Who is DJI to overrule the USA airspace authorization when the FAA is solely responsible for its management? This has happened too many times to pro pilots using DJI equipment. We know where to fly. We understand the airspace, and fully appreciate the rules and the importance of safety for all in the airspace. What does DJI continue to employ Geo-Fencing for FAA certified pilots and their aircraft? It is truly frustrating!
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
302
Reaction score
108
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
I am clueless as to why DJI continues to force FAA certified pilots to live under their Geo-Fencing code. We know where to fly legally. Last week I had a commercial project that was fully authorized by the ATC, and was in a 400' AGL LAANC area near a Class D airport. DJI's Fly Safe showed my area as a 'altitude' zone on an approach path (not ILS, since it was a SECONDARY landing strip). I was unable to leave the ground with my my Inspire 2. The crazy online authorization simply was not working as I had hoped. So I pulled out my Air 2S and it took off without hassle, BUT would not go above 195' AGL because of the 'altitude' zone. WHAT?!?!? I had FAA ATC formal authorization to fly up to 400' AGL. Who is DJI to overrule the USA airspace authorization when the FAA is solely responsible for its management? This has happened too many times to pro pilots using DJI equipment. We know where to fly. We understand the airspace, and fully appreciate the rules and the importance of safety for all in the airspace. What does DJI continue to employ Geo-Fencing for FAA certified pilots and their aircraft? It is truly frustrating!
Fully agree with everything. Do yourself a favor and use drone hacks so you don’t have to mess with that anymore. Even if DJI had some system for unlocking I wouldn’t trust it.

 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
851
Age
59
I am clueless as to why DJI continues to force FAA certified pilots to live under their Geo-Fencing code. We know where to fly legally. Last week I had a commercial project that was fully authorized by the ATC, and was in a 400' AGL LAANC area near a Class D airport. DJI's Fly Safe showed my area as a 'altitude' zone on an approach path (not ILS, since it was a SECONDARY landing strip). I was unable to leave the ground with my my Inspire 2. The crazy online authorization simply was not working as I had hoped. So I pulled out my Air 2S and it took off without hassle, BUT would not go above 195' AGL because of the 'altitude' zone. WHAT?!?!? I had FAA ATC formal authorization to fly up to 400' AGL. Who is DJI to overrule the USA airspace authorization when the FAA is solely responsible for its management? This has happened too many times to pro pilots using DJI equipment. We know where to fly. We understand the airspace, and fully appreciate the rules and the importance of safety for all in the airspace. What does DJI continue to employ Geo-Fencing for FAA certified pilots and their aircraft? It is truly frustrating!
As a commercial UAV pilot who doesn't have the option to "not fly" when crews are standing by @ $1,000/hour or production is costing 10x that, I've been complaining about erroneous DJI GeoFencing for YEARS. Fortunately, after being grounded ONE TIME, I hacked all my drones. Now I can turn GeoFencing on and off like a switch. For example, just last week I demonstrated to a buddy that a non-military, residential zone in my home town is flagged as "military" space more than a dozen miles from the closest military installation.

1659709229412.jpeg

This error popped up after months of servicing a Construction Progress client with no problems. Then, all of the sudden one day, out of the blue, the above error message popped up. Of course I double and triple checked all NOTAM's. As I predicted, there were no notifications for this area. As you can see in the background photo this is a residential area. In this mode my Inspire 1 motors won't even spin up. It took me only a few seconds to clear this restriction and fly as usual. As far as I know, I'm the only UAV pilot I've heard of that can turn GeoFencing on and off like a switch. Brett8883 nailed it. Hack your drone and be done with it. I think "No Limit Drones" is an option many use who don't want to dive into the rabbit hole of software and firmware manipulation.

D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
851
Age
59
The one you recommended. What else?

Yep...their website is broken. Last snapshot was on July 7. I don't know if they're out of business. I would try emailing them. Use the Wayback Machine to acquire their email address.

D

Linux is not your mother.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
16
Location
KVNY
Ahhhh....I see you learned how to use the reply feature. Good for you.

Yep...their website is broken. Last snapshot was on July 7. I don't know if they're out of business. I would try emailing them. Use the Wayback Machine to acquire their email address.

D

Linux is not your mother.
Thanks Mr. Peabody. I will.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
24
Reaction score
8
Location
Stuart FL
Ahhhh....I see you learned how to use the reply feature. Good for you.

Yep...their website is broken. Last snapshot was on July 7. I don't know if they're out of business. I would try emailing them. Use the Wayback Machine to acquire their email address.

D

Linux is not your mother.
Interesting it came up just fine for me maybe it’s time you finally learn how to use a browser
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
851
Age
59
Interesting it came up just fine for me maybe it’s time you finally learn how to use a browser
1659794315528.png

Firefox.
Chrome.
Brave.

You should screenshot your browser downloading a file from nolimitdronez.com. Otherwise, I might suggest you learn how caching works and how to clear it out of your browser.

D
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
12
Reaction score
8
I am clueless as to why DJI continues to force FAA certified pilots to live under their Geo-Fencing code. We know where to fly legally. Last week I had a commercial project that was fully authorized by the ATC, and was in a 400' AGL LAANC area near a Class D airport. DJI's Fly Safe showed my area as a 'altitude' zone on an approach path (not ILS, since it was a SECONDARY landing strip). I was unable to leave the ground with my my Inspire 2. The crazy online authorization simply was not working as I had hoped. So I pulled out my Air 2S and it took off without hassle, BUT would not go above 195' AGL because of the 'altitude' zone. WHAT?!?!? I had FAA ATC formal authorization to fly up to 400' AGL. Who is DJI to overrule the USA airspace authorization when the FAA is solely responsible for its management? This has happened too many times to pro pilots using DJI equipment. We know where to fly. We understand the airspace, and fully appreciate the rules and the importance of safety for all in the airspace. What does DJI continue to employ Geo-Fencing for FAA certified pilots and their aircraft? It is truly frustrating!
I can't tell you the hours I've wasted because of this, just ridiculous! I'm finding that my new Mavic 3 is more tolerant, why would that be?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
851
Age
59
I am clueless as to why DJI continues to force FAA certified pilots to live under their Geo-Fencing code. We know where to fly legally. Last week I had a commercial project that was fully authorized by the ATC, and was in a 400' AGL LAANC area near a Class D airport. DJI's Fly Safe showed my area as a 'altitude' zone on an approach path (not ILS, since it was a SECONDARY landing strip). I was unable to leave the ground with my my Inspire 2. The crazy online authorization simply was not working as I had hoped. So I pulled out my Air 2S and it took off without hassle, BUT would not go above 195' AGL because of the 'altitude' zone. WHAT?!?!? I had FAA ATC formal authorization to fly up to 400' AGL. Who is DJI to overrule the USA airspace authorization when the FAA is solely responsible for its management? This has happened too many times to pro pilots using DJI equipment. We know where to fly. We understand the airspace, and fully appreciate the rules and the importance of safety for all in the airspace. What does DJI continue to employ Geo-Fencing for FAA certified pilots and their aircraft? It is truly frustrating!
I'll just reiterate to hack your drone. I totally agree how maddening DJI's ARBITRARY GeoFencing is. They haven't a clue and they don't care. They're in China. It makes more sense for them to oversize the restricted areas than to undersize them. So that's what they do. The unfortunate reality is that the customer is #2. Good luck.

D
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
21,786
Messages
207,893
Members
31,902
Latest member
Badscorpion