Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Got my FLYTREX LIVE

Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
50
Age
41
My Flytrex came into today. Got it installed. Working on the video now. Should be posted shortly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: John Alan
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
50
Age
41
Nothing to report other than it was a straight forward install. Any specific questions?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
3,460
Reaction score
1,675
Location
Boston, MA
Nothing to report other than it was a straight forward install. Any specific questions?
How long did installation take?

Can you possibly post a few pics of the final install?

Have you had a chance to test it yet?

What 3G plan did you choose and how much is it?

Are you in the U.S.?

Any sense of the update latency to the servers?

Have you tried the mobile Flytrex app?

Thx!
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
12
Age
49
How long did installation take?

Can you possibly post a few pics of the final install?

Have you had a chance to test it yet?

What 3G plan did you choose and how much is it?

Are you in the U.S.?

Any sense of the update latency to the servers?

Have you tried the mobile Flytrex app?

Thx!
What he said o_O
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Age
58
Which 3G plan did you go with?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
436
Reaction score
109
Age
50
Great simple video to understand. Thank you. currently have the Trackimo but this does look far better
 
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Age
37
Location
Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Thanks offtosleep. Which wireless carrier did you go with, and did you have any issues initiating the service? I don't have GSM service, so I'm concerned about "activating" it without a phone.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
50
Age
41
Which 3G plan did you go with?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I used a package from Cellular One (I believe they are somehow linked up T-Mobil. I live in a very, very rural community so I had to pay for a small roaming package on top of the basic data. It is all prepaid and cost about $20 for 250mb of data.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
50
Age
41
Great simple video to understand. Thank you. currently have the Trackimo but this does look far better
As mentioned, I use both the Flytrex and the Drone Mods Tracker. I like the insurance if something goes wrong, I can at least go recover the parts :). I also have two Inspires, so I can switch it easily between the two. Depending on how the Flytrex works out, I'll order another Flytrex.
 
  • Like
Reactions: damoncooper
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
2
To anyone that has their new Flytrex Live operating, does anyone know what it means when you get a solid blue indicator instead of a flashing green and obviously never connecting online?
I've done the install exactly as per installation instructions, registered the unit with Flytrex online, added $$ to recharge my H2O Wireless account. Left support request with Flytrex.
This is my second Flytrex Live the one for the P2V+ works fine
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
50
Age
41
I had the same problem at first, with the light staying solid blue. I called Cellular One and they had only added roaming and NOT local coverage to my plan and because I was flying in their "local" area, it wouldn't work. After they added the local area to my plan, it linked right up.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
2
I had the same problem at first, with the light staying solid blue. I called Cellular One and they had only added roaming and NOT local coverage to my plan and because I was flying in their "local" area, it wouldn't work. After they added the local area to my plan, it linked right up.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
2
Thanks offtosleep I called H2O, what a mind numbing experience. First they can't accept the fact that their sim card is going in something besides a cell phone. In their automated setup they text you at the phone number assigned to the sim, a login and password to a site that lets you configure the features and this site is different from the online account you have to setup in order to add minutes"recharge" the card. My problem is that I'm in the Apple environment and the sim card is too large for any of our phones.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
19,737
Messages
192,959
Members
29,106
Latest member
danielali1985